Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Social and Political Science

Name Telephone Email Office
Professor Nicola Ansell Professor Nicola Ansell
Professor of Human Geography
After obtaining a BA in Geography from Cambridge University, I taught secondary school geography for...
T: +44 (0)1895 266085
E: nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266085 nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 133
Dr Nicolas Argenti Dr Nicolas Argenti
Senior Lecturer
For 20 years from 1990 to 2010 I carried out research in the Cameroon Grassfields. My work there foc...
T: +44 (0)1895 265457
E: nicolas.argenti@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265457 nicolas.argenti@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 138
Dr Gary Armstrong Dr Gary Armstrong
Lecturer
He previously lectured in Criminology at the University of Westminster and the University of Reading...
T: +44 (0)1895 266644
E: gary.armstrong@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266644 gary.armstrong@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 154a
 Elena Baches Elena Baches
PhD Student
E: elena.baches@brunel.ac.uk
elena.baches@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Beatty Dr Andrew Beatty
Senior Lecturer In Anthropology
I became interested in anthropology after spending a couple of years travelling in Asia; conducted s...
T: +44 (0)1895 265943
E: andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265943 andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 141
Dr Benjamin Bowles Dr Benjamin Bowles
I graduated from Durham in 2011 from the combined Biological/Social Anthropology BA and moved to Bru...
E: benjamin.bowles@brunel.ac.uk
benjamin.bowles@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Alison Carrol Dr Alison Carrol
Senior Lecturer, Politics And History
I am a historian of Modern Europe, with research interests in the history of borders, borderlands, n...
T: +44 (0)1895 267980
E: alison.carrol@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267980 alison.carrol@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 215
 Michelle Carter Michelle Carter
PhD Student
E: michelle.carter@brunel.ac.uk
michelle.carter@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Liana Chua Dr Liana Chua
Senior Lecturer in Anthropology
I am a social anthropologist with long-term ethnographic interests in Borneo, ethnic politics, Chris...
T: +44 (0)1895 265429
E: liana.chua@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265429 liana.chua@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 140
Dr Gareth Dale Dr Gareth Dale
Senior Lecturer
Gareth worked at Birkbeck College, the London School of Economics and Swansea University b...
T: +44 (0)1895 267298
E: gareth.dale@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267298 gareth.dale@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 214
Professor Philip Davies Professor Philip Davies
Professor of Intelligence Studies
Although born in England, I took my first two degrees in Canada then returned to pursue my PhD at Re...
T: +44 (0)1895 266827
E: philip.davies@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266827 philip.davies@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 226
Dr Sara De Benedictis Dr Sara De Benedictis
Lecturer in Media and Communications
Sara joined Brunel in May 2017 as a Lecturer in Media and Communications. Sara is the convenor of Me...
T: +44 (0)1895 265662
E: sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265662 sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 148
Dr Monica Degen Dr Monica Degen
Lecturer In Sociology/Communications, Socrates Convenor (Cmm)
I joined Brunel University in 2004 after having worked as a Research Fellow in the Human Geography d...
T: +44 (0)1895 265940
E: monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265940 monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 149
Dr Filippo Dellucchese Dr Filippo Dellucchese
Senior Lecturer
I completed my PhD in 2002 in History of Political Thought at the University of Pisa. After a four y...
T: +44 (0)1895 267880
E: filippo.dellucchese@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267880 filippo.dellucchese@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 227
 Erin Dermody Erin Dermody
PhD Student
E: erin.dermody@brunel.ac.uk
erin.dermody@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Inge Dornan Dr Inge Dornan
Lecturer
I received my PhD from Cambridge University in 2000. Before joining Brunel, I taught American histor...
T: +44 (0)1895 266831
E: inge.dornan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266831 inge.dornan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 228
Ms Claire Dungey Ms Claire Dungey
Research Assistant
I gained my Ph.D. in anthropology from Aarhus University in 2015. My Ph.D is based on research in ru...
T: +44 (0)1895 268713
E: claire.dungey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268713 claire.dungey@brunel.ac.uk
 Iain Farquharson Iain Farquharson
PhD Student
Growing up in Hampshire surrounded by the military I have always maintained a passionate interest in...
E: iain.farquharson@brunel.ac.uk
iain.farquharson@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Justin Fisher Professor Justin Fisher
Head Of Department
After nearly three years working in market research, I took my first degree and then moved on to a P...
T: +44 (0)1895 266309
E: justin.fisher@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266309 justin.fisher@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 208
Dr Martin Folly Dr Martin Folly
Senior Lecturer
I studied for my PhD under Donald Cameron Watt and Antony Best at the London School of Economics, an...
T: +44 (0)1895 266823
E: martin.folly@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266823 martin.folly@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 230
Dr Peggy Froerer Dr Peggy Froerer
Reader in Anthropology
I found my way into anthropology after an initial foray into politics, completing my PhD at the Lond...
T: +44 (0)1895 265456
E: peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265456 peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 143
Mr Mohamed Gaballa Mr Mohamed Gaballa
Lecturer
Gaballa joined Brunel, in 2014, as the leader of the department\'s new Distance Learning programmes ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267974
E: mohamed.gaballa@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267974 mohamed.gaballa@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 203
Dr Kristian Gustafson Dr Kristian Gustafson
Senior Lecturer
Dr. Gustafson is the deputy Director of BCISS and is the Director of Studie...
T: +44 (0)1895 265436
E: kristian.gustafson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265436 kristian.gustafson@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 218
Dr Martin Hansen Dr Martin Hansen
Director of Undergraduate Programmes (Politics & History)
I’m trained as a political scientist in Denmark and after finishing my PhD in 2008 I took up a posit...
T: +44 (0)1895 267715
E: martin.hansen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267715 martin.hansen@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 220
Dr Lesley Henderson Dr Lesley Henderson
Senior Lecturer, Sociology/Communications, Director Cmcr
Lesley Henderson is a media Sociologist with a strong track record of externally funded research con...
T: +44 (0)1895 265459
E: lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265459 lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 144
Professor Eric Hirsch Professor Eric Hirsch
Divisional Lead - Antrhopology
I initially trained as an engineer but later found that anthropology was what really interested me. ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265953
E: eric.hirsch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265953 eric.hirsch@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 134
Dr Anita Howarth Dr Anita Howarth
Lecturer in Journalism
Anita Howarth specializes in the interaction between journalism/media, politics and risk. She has a ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267047
E: anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267047 anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 176
Professor Matthew Hughes Professor Matthew Hughes
Professor of Military History
Matthew Hughes studied Geography and History as an undergraduate at the School of Oriental and Afric...
T: +44 (0)1895 266872
E: matthew.hughes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266872 matthew.hughes@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 210
Dr Meredith Jones Dr Meredith Jones
Reader
Meredith Jones is a Reader in Gender and Media Studies, and is Director of the Research Centre for G...
T: +44 (0)1895 268058
E: meredith.jones@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268058 meredith.jones@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 147
Professor Jeffrey Karp Professor Jeffrey Karp
Professor of Political Science
Jeffrey Karp is a political scientist specialising in research on public opinion, elections, and pol...
T: +44 (0)1895 265632
E: jeffrey.karp@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265632 jeffrey.karp@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 201
Dr Maria Kastrinou Dr Maria Kastrinou
Lecturer
Anchored in political anthropology, my research focuses on sectarian politics and national belonging...
T: +44 (0)1895 265059
E: maria.kastrinou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265059 maria.kastrinou@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 136
Dr Thomas Linehan Dr Thomas Linehan
Lecturer in History
I graduated from Ruskin College, Oxford, which has links to the labour and trade union movement, in ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266829
E: thomas.linehan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266829 thomas.linehan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 232
Dr Sharon Lockyer Dr Sharon Lockyer
Lecturer In Sociology & Communications
I joined the School of Social Sciences as a Lecturer in Sociology and Communications in September 20...
T: +44 (0)1895 267373
E: sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267373 sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 146
Dr John Macmillan Dr John Macmillan
Senior Lecturer
The inter-disciplinary nature of International Relations has, for me, always been one of the most st...
T: +44 (0)1895 266101
E: john.macmillan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266101 john.macmillan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 216
Mr Mohamed Majothi Mr Mohamed Majothi
PhD Student
Formerly a soldier and police officer, now retired and into the second year of a full-time PhD resea...
E: mohamed.majothi@brunel.ac.uk
mohamed.majothi@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Sarita Malik Professor Sarita Malik
Professor of Media, Culture and Communications, Director of Rese
Sarita Malik's research examines the politics of inequality, cultural representation and institution...
T: +44 (0)1895 266874
E: sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266874 sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 152
 Danil Mikhailov Danil Mikhailov
PhD Student
E: danil.mikhailov@brunel.ac.uk
danil.mikhailov@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Paul Moody Dr Paul Moody
Lecturer
Paul started working for the Sociology and Communications department in August 2014 as a Lecturer in...
T: +44 (0)1895 267804
E: paul.moody@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267804 paul.moody@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 158
 Alastair Mordaunt Alastair Mordaunt
PhD Student
My undergraduate degree was in Politics at the University York. I took options in Moral Philosophy a...
E: alastair.mordaunt@brunel.ac.uk
alastair.mordaunt@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Kenneth Morgan Professor Kenneth Morgan
Professor of History
I am primarily an economic and social historian of the British Atlantic world in the ‘long’ eighteen...
T: +44 (0)1895 266828
E: kenneth.morgan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266828 kenneth.morgan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 211
 Harun Muratogullari Harun Muratogullari
PhD Student
E: harun.muratogullari@brunel.ac.uk
harun.muratogullari@brunel.ac.uk
 Liliana Narvaez Rodriguez Liliana Narvaez Rodriguez
PhD Student
I undertook my bachelor studies in Bogotá, Colombia, in Political Science. Whilst undertaking these ...
E: liliana.narvaezrodriguez@brunel.ac.uk
liliana.narvaezrodriguez@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Mark Neocleous Professor Mark Neocleous
Department Director for Research
Mark joined Brunel University in the Department of Government in 1994. Since then he has published n...
T: +44 (0)1895 266824
E: mark.neocleous@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266824 mark.neocleous@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 202
Dr Isak Niehaus Dr Isak Niehaus
Senior Lecturer
After attending school in Oudtshoorn (a semi-desert town which is the centre of South Africa’s ostri...
T: +44 (0)1895 267413
E: isak.niehaus@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267413 isak.niehaus@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 139
Dr Niall Palmer Dr Niall Palmer
Lecturer
After completing my PhD at Bristol, I undertook a 2-year Teaching and Research Fellowship with the u...
T: +44 (0)1895 266826
E: niall.palmer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266826 niall.palmer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 224
Dr Steve Pickering Dr Steve Pickering
Lecturer in International Relations
I completed my Ph.D. at the University of Lancaster in 2010. Since then, I have held positions at th...
T: +44 (0)1895 268357
E: steve.pickering@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268357 steve.pickering@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 213
Dr Hauke Riesch Dr Hauke Riesch
Lecturer Sociology & Communications
After completing a PhD on scientists' views on philosophy of science at University College London, I...
T: +44 (0)1895 266854
E: hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266854 hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 142
Dr John Roberts Dr John Roberts
Divisonal Lead - Sociology
I completed my PhD at Cardiff University in 2000 on urban space and free speech. I’ve studied and ta...
T: +44 (0)1895 266377
E: john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266377 john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 155
Dr William Rollason Dr William Rollason
Senior Lecturer
Will received his PhD from the University of Manchester in 2008. His thesis was based on eighteen mo...
T: +44 (0)1895 265041
E: william.rollason@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265041 william.rollason@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 135
Dr Katja Sarmiento-Mirwaldt Dr Katja Sarmiento-Mirwaldt
Senior Lecturer
I completed my PhD in 2007 with the support of the ESRC and the University of Essex. I then joined t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267717
E: katja.sarmiento-mirwaldt@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267717 katja.sarmiento-mirwaldt@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 219
Professor Matthew Seligmann Professor Matthew Seligmann
Professor of Naval History & Divisional Lead
I spent my first eighteen years living and working in London before deciding to follow my passion an...
T: +44 (0)1895 267261
E: matthew.seligmann@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267261 matthew.seligmann@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 212
Dr Sanjay Sharma Dr Sanjay Sharma
Lecturer In Sociology/Communications
My original training was in engineering & computing, though I found the social sciences & hu...
T: +44 (0)1895 265835
E: sanjay.sharma@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265835 sanjay.sharma@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 156
Mrs Rachel Sharp Mrs Rachel Sharp
Teaching Fellow
Rachel Sharp is an experienced newspaper editor, and an award-winning multi-media journalist.She beg...
T: +44 (0)1895 267108
E: rachel.sharp@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267108 rachel.sharp@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 177
 Diane Smith Diane Smith
PhD Student
E: d.smith2@brunel.ac.uk
d.smith2@brunel.ac.uk
Dr James Staples Dr James Staples
Reader in Anthropology
After completing a first degree in anthropology in 1990 I worked for nearly ten years as a journalis...
T: +44 (0)1895 267412
E: james.staples@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267412 james.staples@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 137
Dr Christian Stiegler Dr Christian Stiegler
Senior Lecturer
"Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads" (Back to the Future, Part II) Dr Stiegler’s wor...
T: +44 (0)1895 268432
E: christian.stiegler@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268432 christian.stiegler@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 174
Dr Peter Thomas Dr Peter Thomas
Senior Lecturer
Dr Peter D. Thomas has studied and worked at the University of Queensland, Freie Universität Berlin,...
T: +44 (0)1895 267573
E: peter.thomas2@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267573 peter.thomas2@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 229
Dr Jingrong Tong Dr Jingrong Tong
Senior Lecturer in Digital Media & Communications
Jingrong Tong has been working in the area of journalism and news media for sixteen years first as a...
T: +44 (0)1895 268841
E: jingrong.tong@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268841 jingrong.tong@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 173
Dr Varun Uberoi Dr Varun Uberoi
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
I did my first degree in politics and history at the University of Manchester, after which I joined ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265858
E: varun.uberoi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265858 varun.uberoi@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 231
Dr Steven Wagner Dr Steven Wagner
Lecturer
Before coming to Brunel, I was a SSHRC postdoctoral fellow in the Department of History and Classica...
T: +44 (0)1895 268984
E: steven.wagner@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268984 steven.wagner@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 217
Professor Steven Wainwright Professor Steven Wainwright
Deputy Director
I am a qualitative (medical) sociologist with an unusual background in the social, earth and biomedi...
T: +44 (0)1895 265325
E: steven.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265325 steven.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 150
Dr Simon Weaver Dr Simon Weaver
Lecturer
Simon is a Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications at Brunel University London. He started ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265029
E: simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265029 simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 145
Dr Hannah Whittaker Dr Hannah Whittaker
Lecturer
After completing my MA in Imperial History at Durham University in 2006, I went on to work as a Grad...
T: +44 (0)1895 267174
E: hannah.whittaker@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267174 hannah.whittaker@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 225
Dr Peter Wilkin Dr Peter Wilkin
Reader In Communications Media & Cultural Studies
I worked at Lancaster University from 1994 in the Department of Politics and International Relations...
T: +44 (0)1895 267241
E: peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267241 peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 154
Professor Clare Williams Professor Clare Williams
Professor Of Sociology
Having worked as a nurse and health visitor for 20 years I completed my PhD in 1998, with the suppor...
T: +44 (0)1895 267720
E: clare.williams@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267720 clare.williams@brunel.ac.uk