Economics and Finance

Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Professor Ray Barrell**
Role: Professor of Economics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265430
Email: Ray.Barrell@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 258
  • Consumption, trade and monetary and fiscal policies
  • FDI, R&D education and growth
  • Money and banking, financial regulation
Professor John Bennett**
Role: Professor of Economics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266649
Email: john.bennett@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 254
  • Development and transition economics
  • Informal labour markets
  • Privatization
Professor Nauro Campos**
Role: Professor of Economics and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267115
Email: nauro.campos@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 263
  • Economic growth
  • Political economy
  • Finance
  • Labour economics
Dr Alessandra Canepa**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266207
Email: alessandra.canepa@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 247
  • Econometrics
  • Empirical finance
  • Financial econometrics
Professor Guglielmo Maria Caporale**
Role: Professor of Economics and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266713
Email: guglielmo-maria.caporale@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 251
  • International finance
  • Monetary and financial economics
  • Macroeconomics and econometrics
Dr Qiwei Chen
Role: Lecturer of Finance and Accounting

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267763
Email: qiwei.chen@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 248
  • Behavioural finance especially momentum, disposition
  • CDS
  • Earning management anomaly and company valuation
  • Behavioural accounting
Dr Ioana Chioveanu**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267863
Email: ioana.chioveanu@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 269
  • Microeconomics theory
  • Industrial economics
  • Competition policy
Dr Mauro Costantini**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267958
Email: mauro.costantini@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 260
  • Econometrics of panel data
  • Time series
  • Forecasting
Dr Javier Coto-Martinez
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267724
Email: javier.coto-martinez@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 262
  • Macroeconomics
  • International macroeconomics
Dr Evangelos Dioikitopoulos
Role: Lecturer in Economics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267862
Email: evangelos.dioikitopoulos@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 244
  • Growth theory
  • Dynamic optimal taxation
  • Macroeconomic dynamics
  • Demographics and economic history
Dr Jan Fidrmuc**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Economics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266528
Email: jan.fidrmuc@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 255
  • Political economy
  • Institutional economics
  • Labor and family economics
  • Development and transition economics
Professor Sugata Ghosh**
Role: Professor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266887
Email: sugata.ghosh@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 261
  • Growth theory and empirics
  • Macroeconomic theory and policy
  • Applied microeconomic theory
  • Development economics
Dr Charles Grant
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265393
Email: charles.grant@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 259
  • Applied Microeconometrics


Dr Omaima Hassan
Role: Lecturer in Financial Accounting

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267680
Email: omaima.hassan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 246a
  • Determinants and implications of financial reporting
  • Market-based accounting research
  • Corporate governance
  • Earnings management
Dr John Hunter**
Role: Lecturer in Econometrics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266648
Email: john.hunter@ brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 257
  • Arbitrage in economic and financial markets
  • Exchange rate and small macro modelling
  • Non-stationary time series
  • Regulatory econometrics
Professor Menelaos Karanasos**
Role: Professor of Financial Economics

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265284
Email: menelaos.karanasos@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 269
  • Empirical finance
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Time series analysis
  • Financial development
Dr Dilruba Karim**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265955
Email: dilruba.karim@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 242
  • Early Warning Systems
  • Banking Crises
  • Financial Regulation
Dr Aris Kartsaklas
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267259
Email: aris.kartsaklas@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 270
  • Financial econometrics and forecasting
  • Market microstructure and asset pricing
  • Applied macroeconomics
Dr Kyriacos Kyriacou
Role: Lecturer in Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266656
Email: kyriacos.kyriacou@Brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 267
  • The impact of derivatives on underlying markets
  • The information content of Director trades
  • Executive stock options
  • Insider trading (general)
Dr Siming Liu
Role: Lecturer in Finance and Accounting

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266606
Email: Siming.Liu@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Maria Jahoda Room 246
  • Determinants and consequences of financial reporting quality

  • Financial contracts, auditing and taxation on accounting quality

  • Accounting regulations and financial reporting of SMEs

Professor Guy Liu
Role: Professor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266650
Email: guy.liu@Brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 253
  • Industrial organization and competition
  • Financial economics and corporate governance
  • Chinese industry development and enterprise reform
  • Energy economics and electricity industry
Dr Bryan Mase**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266647
Email: bryan.mase@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 256
  • Applied corporate finance
  • Insider trading
Dr Faek Menla Ali
Role: Lecturer in Economics and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266107
Email: faek.menlaali@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Maria Jahoda Room 252
  • International Finance and Open Economy Macroeconomic
  • Exchange Rate Modelling
  • Macro and Financial Econometrics
  • Financial Economics
Dr Tomoe Moore**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267531
Email: tomoe.moore@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 250
  • Emerging financial markets
  • Applied macroeconomics in emerging and developing countries
  • Global finance
  • Banking sector in emerging economies
Dr Russ Moro**
Role: Lecturer of Economics and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266058
Email: russ.moro@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 266
  • Credit risk and company credit rating
  • Behavioural finance and neuroeconomics
  • Innovation and company performance
  • Non- and semi-parametric methods
Dr Matthew Rablen**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267848
Email: matthew.rablen@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 265
  • Tax evasion
  • Behavioural economics
  • Public economics
  • Voting
Professor Frank Skinner**
Role: Professor of Corporate Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267948
Email: frank.skinner@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 241
  • Financial contracting
  • Debt pricing
  • Investment strategies
  • Agency theory
Dr Fabio Spagnolo**
Role: Reader in Economics and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265637
Email: fabio.spagnolo@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 264
  • Financial econometrics
  • International finance
  • Nonlinear time series
Dr Nicola Spagnolo**
Role: Reader

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266636
Email: nicola.spagnolo@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 245
  • Applied macroeconomics
  • Empirical finance
  • Financial crises and contagion
  • Time series econometrics
Dr Alexia Ventouri-Dimitropoulou**
Role: Lecturer in Accounting and Finance

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267165
Email: alexia.ventouri@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 239
  • Efficiency and productivity of financial institutions
  • Bank regulation and supervision
  • Competition issues in banking
  • Finance and growth

Page last updated: Wednesday 31 August 2011