Law

Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Mr Paul Bracken
Role: Visiting English Language Support Teacher

Phone:
Email: mailto:paul.bracken@brunel.ac.uk
Office:
Professor Ben Chigara
Role: Professor of Law - Director, Taught Postgraduate Programmes in Law; Convenor, LLM in Human Rights Law; Co-Director, Law & Digital Culture Programme

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266230
Email: ben.chigara@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 075

Validity, legitimacy and sustainability of legal processes and practices; Development and enforcement of International Human Rights Law, especially, Individual, Constitutional, and Labour Rights; Law making processes, especially Customary International Law; and also Regional and International Institutions and processes.

Dr Gerard Conway
Role: Law Lecturer - Convenor of CPE

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267492
Email: gerard.conway@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 063

European constitutional law (European Union and comparative), especially the role and legal reasoning of the European Court of Justice;
European criminal law
Legal theory
Public international law

Dr Claire Corbett
Role: Visiting Senior Research Fellow

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266243
Email: claire.corbett@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 004
Unlawful driving behaviour especially speeding; Speed cameras; Car crime; Penalty points demerit system, Traffic law enforcement, Psychological aspects of the criminal justice system.
Professor Matthew Daniels
Role: Associate Professor

Phone:
Email: md@goodofall.org
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 112
Dr Ignacio De La Rasilla Del Moral
Role: Law Lecturer - LIBT Rep

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266237
Email: ignacio.delarasilla@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 062

Public International Law
Constitutional Law
Global Law and Governance
European Union Law - Foreign Affairs Law
History of International Law and Legal Thought
Jurisprudence
International Human Rights Law
Comparative International Law
Critical (International) Legal Theory

Dr Rossana Deplano
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265137
Email: rossana.deplano@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 071
I am currently working on the following topics: UN Security Council and human rights; empirical study of UN Security Council resolutions and implications for the development of international law; UN General Assembly resolutions and customary international law.
Ms Meryl Dickinson
Role: Visiting Lecturer (PT)

Phone:
Email: meryl.dickinson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 108
Dr Andreas Dimopoulos
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267666
Email: andreas.dimopoulos@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 053

Medical law
Bioethics
Human Rights
Disability Rights
Discrimination Law
Family Law

Dr Narine Ghazaryan
Role: Law Lecturer - Examination Convenor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265426
Email: narine.ghazaryan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 054

The European Neighbourhood Policy
EU Enlargement
Democratisation
Law and Politics

Ms Adriana Giunta
Role: Visiting Lecturer (PT)

Phone:
Email: adriana.giunta@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 108
Dr Patricia Hobbs
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266279
Email: patricia.hobbs@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 064
The Rome Statute, the principle of complementarity, State sovereignty, immunity of Heads of State and State officials, the International Criminal Court and the Kenya situation; the application of international humanitarian law by the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia.
Ms Felicity Kaganas
Role: Reader - Divisional Lead

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266235
Email: felicity.kaganas@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 009c
Family Law
Child Law
Feminist Theory
Ms Maria Kotsovili
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266890
Email: maria.kotsovili@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 074
Dr Philip Larkin
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266890
Email: philip.larkin@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 066
Dr Liat Levanon
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266140
Email: liat.levanon@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 055

Criminal law, theories of punishment, evidence law, terrorism and law, feminism and law

Dr Jurgita Malinauskaite
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265434
Email: jurgita.malinauskaite@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 076
EC and International Competition Law
Comparative Competition Law
Harmonisation of International Competition Law
The WTO and Competition Law
Small Market Economies and Competition Law
Mr Michael O'Sullivan
Role: Visiting Lecturer (PT), Barrister

Phone:
Email: michael.osullivan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 111
Professor Andrew Olins
Role: Associate Professor

Phone:
Email: andrew.olins@ibblaw.co.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 112
Professor Abimbola Olowofoyeku
Role: Professor of Law

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266223
Email: abimbola.olowofoyeku@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 052
Comparative Constitutionalism
Administrative Law
Revenue Law
Torts
Dr Peter Petkoff
Role: Law Lecturer - Dissertaions Tutor + PG Cert IP Convenor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267437
Email: peter.petkoff@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 073
Law and religion
Canon Law
EC Law
Intellectual Property
Comparative and International Law
Professor Christine Piper
Role: Emeritus Professor of Law - Fellow, Academy of Social Sciences

Phone:
Email: christine.piper@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 001

Family law and policy
Youth justice issues
Sentencing

Professor Patrick Polden
Role: Professor Emeritus

Phone:
Email: patrick.polden@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 004
Modern Legal History
Law of Debt
Dr Eleni Polymenopoulou
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267272
Email: eleni.polymenopoulou@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 069
  • International human rights law (particularly political, social and anthropological readings of human rights)
  • International politics and religious extremism
  • Cultural rights, cultural diversity, multiculturalism
  • Freedom of expression
  • Arts and the law
  • Religions and the law
  • Conflicts of rights
  • Gender, sexual rights and LGBT rights
Dr Ayesha Shahid
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265509
Email: ayesha.shahid@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 077
  • Islamic Family Law
  • International Human Rights Law
  • Gender and the Law (with particular focus on women workers’ rights in the informal employment sector).
Dr Alison Slade
Role: Law Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266549
Email: alison.slade@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 068

International Intellectual Property Law
Comparative Intellectual Property Law
Philosophical Foundations of Intellectual Property Law Intellectual Property and Human Rights

Miss Kimberley Spikings
Role: Visiting Lecturer (PT)

Phone:
Email: kimberley.spikings@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Elliott Jaques Room 108
Professor Carl Woolf
Role: Visiting Associate Professor

Phone:
Email:
Office:

Page last updated: Tuesday 14 January 2014