Politics and History

Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Dr Alison Carrol**
Role: Lecturer in European History

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267980
Email: alison.carrol@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 215
  • Modern European History
  • Borders and borderlands
  • French and German political history
  • Nations and nation-building
Dr Gareth Dale**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267298
Email: gareth.dale@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 214
  • Karl Polanyi
  • Environment / climate change
  • Social movements
  • Eastern Europe
Professor Philip Davies**
Role: Professor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266827
Email: philip.davies@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 226
  • Organisation and governance of intelligence agencies and communities
  • National intelligence cultures and traditions
  • Intelligence professionalization, professional practice and doctrine
  • Intelligence, counter-intelligence and cyber- and protective-security policy
Dr Filippo Del Lucchese**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267880
Email: filippo.dellucchese@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 227
  • History of political thought
  • History of philosophy
  • Political theory
  • Cinema 
Dr Inge Dornan**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266831
Email: inge.dornan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 228
  • Gender and race in the Americas (17th-19th century)
  • Slavery and the slave trade
  • Abolitionism
  • Print and press culture in the Americas
Professor Justin Fisher**
Role: Professor of Political Science

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266309
Email: justin.fisher@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 208
  • Political parties & elections
  • Political finance
  • Political trust
  • British and comparative politics
Dr Martin H. Folly**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266823
Email: martin.folly@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 230
  • The Grand alliance in the Second World War
  • Diplomacy and foreign policy during  the Second World War and early Cold War
  • The early history of NATO
  • United States foreign policy 1914 - 1976
Dr Kristian Gustafson**
Role: Lecturer in Intelligence Studies

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265436
Email: kristian.gustafson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 218
  • Intelligence
  • Doctrine
  • Military affairs
  • Horizon scanning
Dr Martin Hansen**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267715
Email: martin.hansen@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 220
  • Parliaments
  • Political parties
  • West European politics
  • Governments
Professor Matthew Hughes**
Role: Head of Department

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266872
Email: Matthew.hughes@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 210
  • Military history
  • War studies
  • International history
  • Palestine and the Middle East
Professor Elke Krahmann**
Role: Professor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266345
Email: elke.krahmann@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 236
  • International relations
  • Security studies
  • Non-state Actors
Dr Nicholas Lees
Role: Lecturer

Phone: 01895 266609
Email: nicholas.lees@brunel.ac.uk
Office: MJ 214

Global inequality and international relations theory
Historical sociology (especially neo-Weberian approaches)
The global South within international society
Normative theories of distributive justice

Dr Thomas Linehan**
Role: Lecturer in History

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266829
Email: thomas.linehan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 232
  • ‘Fringe’ parties, movements and politics in Britain, 1880s -
  • Communist politics and movements
  • Socialist politics and movements
  • Far right politics, movements and ideologies, including antisemitism
Dr John MacMillan**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266101
Email: john.macmillan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 216
  • Democratic peace
  • Liberal state peace / war
  • Military intervention
  • International relations theory
Professor Kenneth Morgan**
Role: Professor of History

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266828
Email: kenneth.morgan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 211
  • Slavery and the slave trade
  • Maritime history
  • Australian history
  • Caribbean history
Professor Mark Neocleous**
Role: Professor of the Critique of Political Economy

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266824
Email: mark.neocleous@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 237
  • History of Ideas
  • Marx and Marxism
  • Police, security and state power
  • Pacification
Dr Niall Palmer**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266826
Email: niall.palmer@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 224
  • US presidency
  • US elections
  • US party politics & ideology
  • US political history
Dr Alejandro M. Peña
Role: Lecturer in International Relations

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266580
Email: Alejandro.pena@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda 236
  • Latin American Politics
  • Global Governance and Standardisation
  • International Relations Theory
Dr Tamson Pietsch**
Role: Lecturer in Imperial and Colonial History (on research leave until September 2016)

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267981
Email: tamson.pietsch@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 225
  • Britain and Empire
  • Global and transnational history
  • History of universities
  • Ships and the sea
Dr Katja Sarmiento-Mirwaldt**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267717
Email: Katja.Sarmiento-Mirwaldt@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 219
  • Borders and border regions
  • Political communication
  • Employment relations
Dr David Scott**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266825
Email: david.scott@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 217
  • China in the international system
  • India in the international system
  • East-West encounters
  • Orientalism
Dr Matthew Seligmann**
Role: Reader

Phone: +44 (0) 1895 267261
Email: matthew.seligmann@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 212
  • The Anglo-German naval race
  • The origins of the first World War
  • Intelligence history
Dr Astrid Swenson**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267912
Email: astrid.swenson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 221
  • Modern European history
  • Heritage and memory
  • Comparative and transnational history
  • French, German and British cultural history
Dr Peter Thomas**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267573
Email: peterd.thomas@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 229
  • History of political thought and philosophy
  • Marxist philosophy and theory
  • Contemporary social and cultural theory
Dr Varun Uberoi**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265858
Email: varun.uberoi@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 231
  • Normative political theory
  • Public policy
  • Multiculturalism
  • National identity
Dr Myron Varouhakis
Role: Lecturer in Intelligence and Security

Phone: 01895266724
Email: myron.varouhakis@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda 213
  • Counterintelligence Theory
  • Operational Intelligence
  • Quantitative and Qualitative Research
Dr Hannah Whittaker
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267174
Email: hannah.whittaker@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda 225
  • African history
  • Kenya and Somalia
  • Insurgency and counterinsurgency
  • Bandits, land, and livestock

Page last updated: Wednesday 31 August 2011