Social Sciences

Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Dr Nicolas Argenti**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265457
Email: nicolas.argenti@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 138
  • Memory, commemoration, and embodiment Youth and childhood
  • Performance and politicsPolitical violence
  • Materiality Anthropology and time
  • Cameroon, Greece and the Balkans.
Dr Andrew Beatty**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Anthropology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265943
Email: andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 141
  • Psychological and psychiatric anthropology
  • Emotion
  • Religion and ritual
  • Indonesia and Mexico
  • New approaches to ethnographic writing
Dr Survjit Cheeta**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266530
Email: survjit.cheeta@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 268
  • Psychopharmacology
  • Neural systems underpinning depression
  • Emotional processing, learning and memory
  • Cognitive behavioural therapies
Dr Liana Chua**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265429
Email: liana.chua@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 140
  • Anthropology of religion
  • Materiality and museology
  • Development and conservation
  • Human-animal relations
Dr Andrew Clark**
Role: Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265127
Email: andrew.clark@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 258
  • Evolutionary psychology
  • Sexual selection
  • Mate preferences
  • Mating tactics and strategies
Dr Monica Degen**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265940
Email: monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 149
  • Cities and space
  • The senses and embodiment
  • Material cultures
  • Sociology of everyday life
Dr Bridget Dibb**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266564
Email: bridget.dibb@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 122
  • Post-traumatic growth after the onset of illness
  • Illness beliefs and adjustment to chronic illness
  • Social comparison in chronic illness
  • The role of stigma in adjustment to chronic illness
Dr Terence (Terry) Dovey**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266617
Email: terence.dovey@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda room 112
  • Avoidant/Restrictive eating disorders (formally known as feeding disorders)
  • Advertising to children
  • Psychopharmacology of appetite regulation
  • Eating Behaviour
Dr Liory Fern-Pollak
Role: Associate Research Fellow

Phone:
Email: liory.fern-pollak@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 262
  • Neural correlates of reading in multiple languages
  • Dyslexia
  • fMRI
Dr Peggy Froerer**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265456
Email: peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 143
  • South Asia
  • Anthropology of education, learning & schooling
  • Children, childhood and youth
  • International development
  • Inequality and social mobility
Dr Stanley Gaines Jr**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265485
Email: stanley.gaines@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 108
  • International development
  • Personal relationships
  • Cross-cultural psychology
  • Ethnic studies
Dr Lúcia Garrido**
Role: Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265555
Email: lucia.garrido@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 208
  • Cognitive neuroscience
  • Face and object recognition
  • Voice recognition
  • Emotion processing
Professor Robin Goodwin**
Role: Professor of Social Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265470
Email: robin.goodwin@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 203
  • Cross-cultural psychology
  • Psychological adaptation to social change
  • Psychological responses to pandemic threat
  • Societal threats (e.g. terrorism, earthquakes)
  • Culture and relationships
Dr Lesley Henderson
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology & Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265459
Email: lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 144
  • Sociology of media
  • Media, health & science
  • Public engagement
  • Qualitative research
Dr Eric Hirsch**
Role: Head of Department

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265953
Email: eric.hirsch@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 134
  • Historicity and landscape
  • Myth, personhood and ritual
  • Power and property relations
  • Papua New Guinea, Britain
Dr Toshie Imada**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267684
Email: toshie.imada@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 116
  • Cross-cultural psychology
  • Culture and social cognition, emotion and motivation
  • Cognitive development
  • Cultural products
  • Intercultural competence
Dr Sharon Lockyer**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267373
Email: sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 146
  • Sociology of mediated culture
  • Critical comedy studies
  • Media controversies
  • Gender, class and disability
Dr Sarita Malik**
Role: Lecturer in Media and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266874
Email: sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 152
  • Race and representation
  • Media genres
  • Media policy and institutions
  • Diasporic media
Dr Tara Marshall**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267096
Email: tara.marshall@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 114
  • Cross-cultural psychology
  • Close relationships
  • Gender and sexuality
Dr Chris McMillan
Role: Temporary Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0) 1895 267541
Email: chris.mcmillan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 153
  • Sociological theory
  • Lacanian psychoanalysis and Marxism
  • Slavoj Žižek
  • Global capitalism, climate change, migration and labour / poverty
Professor Lynn Myers**
Role: Professor of Health Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265879
Email: lynn.myers@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 143
  • Health psychology
  • Coping styles
  • Adherence/ compliance with treatment
  • Risk perception
Dr Isak Niehaus**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267413
Email: isak.niehaus@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 139
  • Southern Africa
  • Political anthropology
  • Witchcraft and cosmology
  • HIV / AIDS
  • Masculinity and sexuality
  • History of anthropology
Professor Dany Nobus**
Role: Pro-Vice-Chancellor

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265944
Email: dany.nobus@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Wilfred Brown Room A117
  • Psychoanalysis
  • History of psychiatry
  • Epistemology
Dr Guido Orgs**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44(0)1895 267707
Email: guido.orgs@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 256
  • Visual and temporal perception of human movement
  • Motor expertise
  • Human movement aesthetics

Dr Justin O’Brien**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265475
Email: justin.obrien@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 124
  • Visual development
  • Neuroimaging
  • Developmental disorders
  • Visual psychophysics
Dr Andrew Parton**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267326
Email: andrew.parton@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 230
  • Cognitive neuropsychology and impaired cognition
  • Visual cognition
  • Visuo-motor control
  • Implicit/explicit memory
Dr Nicholas Pound**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266311
Email: nicholas.pound@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 261
  • Male competitiveness, risk-sensitivity, impulsiveness and violence
  • Facial morphology, health and endocrine status
  • Perception of personality in faces
  • Social and psychological influences on male reproductive physiology and sexual behaviour
Dr Michael Price**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266974
Email: michael.price@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 206
  • Evolutionary psychology
  • Evolution of moral beliefs
  • Cooperation in groups
  • Organizational behaviour
Dr Martina Reynolds**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265482
Email: martina.reynolds@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 110
  • Inter and multidisciplinary research in performance, media and social science.
  • Practice Led Research and Qualitative Research in arts and social sciences
  • Media for dementia sufferers
  • Interactive media and community engagement
  • Ageing /mental illness in television drama
Dr Hauke Riesch
Role: Lecturer

Phone: 07851943613
Email: hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 142
  • Sociology of science
  • Public understanding of science
  • Risk and environment
  • Philosophy of science
Dr John Roberts**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266377
Email: john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 155
  • Public sphere, urban space, and free speech
  • New media
  • Global political economy and management
  • Social theory
Dr Toby Robertson**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265945
Email: toby.robertson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 113
  • Intergroup relations
  • Social identity
  • Attitudes and social influence
Dr William Rollason**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265041
Email: william.rollason@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 135
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Development and the post-colony
  • The future
Dr Charlotte Russell**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266366
Email: charlotte.russell@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 259
  • Neuropsychology of attention and episodic memory
  • Lifespan changes in attention and episodic memory
  • Monetary and social reward in attention and memory
Dr Noam Sagiv**
Role: Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265341
Email: noam.sagiv@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 260
  • Synaesthesia
  • Cross-modal interactions
  • Neural correlates of consciousness
  • Face perception
Dr David Sancho
Role: Leach-RAI Research Fellow

Phone:
Email: David.Sancho@brunel.ac.uk
Office:
  • Anthropology of education
  • Education and class reproduction
  • Transnational schooling
  • South India
  • Indian migrants to the Persian Gulf
Dr Achim Schuetzwohl**
Role: Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266367
Email: achim.schuetzwohl@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 211
  • Surprise
  • Jealousy
  • Facial expression
Dr Isabel Scott**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265907
Email: isabel.scott@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 257
  • Facial perception
  • Mate choice
  • Moral psychology
  • Economic psychology
  • Evolutionary perspectives
Professor Clive Seale**
Role: Head of Department, Professor of Sociology

Phone: +44 (0) 1895 267139
Email: clive.seale@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 148
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Communication in health care
  • Health and mass media
  • End-of-life care
Dr Sanjay Sharma**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)18952 65835
Email: sanjay.sharma@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 156
  • Critical multiculturalism & anti-racism
  • New media & internet politics
  • Digital methods
  • Radical pedagogy
Dr Kimberley Smith**
Role: Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265376
Email: Kimberley.Smith@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Building MJ120
  • Co-morbidity of affective disorders and health
  • Psychoneuroimmunology
  • Psychiatric epidemiology
Dr Janine Spencer**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265474
Email: janine.spencer@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 126
  • Visual development
  • Developmental disorders
  • Biological motion perception
  • Infant development
Dr James Staples**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267412
Email: james.staples@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 137
  • South Asia
  • Medical anthropology (leprosy, disability, the body and pain)
  • Suicide
  • Anthropology of food
  • Biography and life history
Dr André Szameitat**
Role: Reader in Psychology

Phone: 0044 - (0)18952 – 67387
Email: Andre.Szameitat@Brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building 263
  • Executive control and prefrontal cortex
  • Multitasking
  • Human computer interaction
Professor Steven Wainwright**
Role: Professor of Sociology

Phone: +44 (0)7793 056589
Email: steven.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 150
  • Science & Technology Studies
  • Medical Sociology
  • Sociology of the Arts
  • History & Philosophy of Social Science
Dr Simon Weaver**
Role: Lecturer in Media and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265029
Email: simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 145

  • Social & cultural theory, the work of Zygmunt Bauman, semiotics
  • Representations of disability & ‘deformity’ in media
  • Rhetoric in discourses of health
  • Racist & offensive humour, humour & rhetoric
  • Sociology of race, ethnicity & racism
Dr Peter Wilkin
Role: Reader

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267241
Email: peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 154
  • World-systems analysis
  • Anarchism
  • Media and democracy
  • Political economy
  • Social and political theory
Dr Adrian Williams**
Role: Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265452
Email: adrian.williams@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 269
  • Visual (and more broadly, sensory) perception
  • Visual coding and representation in the brain
  • Cortical organisation
  • Neuroimaging - functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI)
Professor Clare Williams**
Role: Professor of Medical Sociology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267720
Email: clare.williams@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 151
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of bioethics
  • Gender
  • Qualitative research
Dr Barlow Wright**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Psychology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267327
Email: barlow.wright@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 163
  • Topics in developmental psychology
  • Psychology of reasoning
  • Disorders and disability psychology
  • Psychology of ethnicity
Professor Taeko Wydell**
Role: Head of Psychology Department, Professor of Cognitive Neurospychology / Neuroscience

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265473
Email: taeko.wydell@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 205
  • Cognitive neuroscience of language & reading in different languages
  • Language and literacy impairments (dyslexia, SLI, etc)
  • Research using fMRI, EEG, MEG & TMS
  • Bilingualism / trilingualism

Page last updated: Wednesday 31 August 2011