Staff Profiles


**indicates staff willing/able to supervise PhD students

Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Dr Monica Degen**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265940
Email: monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 149
  • Cities and space
  • The senses and embodiment
  • Material cultures
  • Sociology of everyday life
Dr Lesley Henderson
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology & Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265459
Email: lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 144
  • Sociology of media
  • Media, health & science
  • Public engagement
  • Qualitative research
Dr Sharon Lockyer**
Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267373
Email: sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 146
  • Sociology of mediated culture
  • Critical comedy studies
  • Media controversies
  • Gender, class and disability
Dr Sarita Malik**
Role: Lecturer in Media and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266874
Email: sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 152
  • Race and representation
  • Media genres
  • Media policy and institutions
  • Diasporic media
Dr Chris McMillan
Role: Temporary Lecturer

Phone: +44 (0) 1895 267541
Email: chris.mcmillan@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Gaskell Building Room 153
  • Sociological theory
  • Lacanian psychoanalysis and Marxism
  • Slavoj Žižek
  • Global capitalism, climate change, migration and labour / poverty
Dr Hauke Riesch
Role: Lecturer

Phone: 07851943613
Email: hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 142
  • Sociology of science
  • Public understanding of science
  • Risk and environment
  • Philosophy of science
Dr John Roberts**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 266377
Email: john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 155
  • Public sphere, urban space, and free speech
  • New media
  • Global political economy and management
  • Social theory
Professor Clive Seale**
Role: Head of Department, Professor of Sociology

Phone: +44 (0) 1895 267139
Email: clive.seale@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 148
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Communication in health care
  • Health and mass media
  • End-of-life care
Dr Sanjay Sharma**
Role: Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)18952 65835
Email: sanjay.sharma@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 156
  • Critical multiculturalism & anti-racism
  • New media & internet politics
  • Digital methods
  • Radical pedagogy
Professor Steven Wainwright**
Role: Professor of Sociology

Phone: +44 (0)7793 056589
Email: steven.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 150
  • Science & Technology Studies
  • Medical Sociology
  • Sociology of the Arts
  • History & Philosophy of Social Science
Dr Simon Weaver**
Role: Lecturer in Media and Communications

Phone: +44 (0)1895 265029
Email: simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 145

  • Social & cultural theory, the work of Zygmunt Bauman, semiotics
  • Representations of disability & ‘deformity’ in media
  • Rhetoric in discourses of health
  • Racist & offensive humour, humour & rhetoric
  • Sociology of race, ethnicity & racism
Dr Peter Wilkin
Role: Reader

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267241
Email: peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 154
  • World-systems analysis
  • Anarchism
  • Media and democracy
  • Political economy
  • Social and political theory
Professor Clare Williams**
Role: Professor of Medical Sociology

Phone: +44 (0)1895 267720
Email: clare.williams@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Marie Jahoda Room 151
  • Sociology of health and illness
  • Sociology of bioethics
  • Gender
  • Qualitative research

Emeritus and Visiting Staff

           
Name and Contact Details
Research Interests
Professor Alex Broom
Role: Visiting Professor


  • Sociology of health
  • Cancer
  • Masculinities
  • Traditional and complementary medicine
Professor Alan Cribb
Role: Visiting Professor


  • Applied philosophy and health policy
  • Health care ethics, health promotion
  • Interdisciplinary research – sociology / education / philosophy
  • Heath care education

Mr Chris Dundon
Role: Media Production Tutor (Media Services)

Phone: +44(0)1895 266960
Email: chris.dundon@brunel.ac.uk
Office: Lecture Centre – Room 310A


  • Filmmaking and screenwriting
  • Documentary filmmaking
  • HD Digital technology and multi-media content

Dr Alison Harvey
Role: Visiting Fellow


  • Political sociology of bioscience and healthcare
  • Sociology of expertise
  • Foucauldian social theory
Professor Ilana Lowy
Role: Visiting Professor


  • History of medicine
  • Science & technology studies
  • Cancer, tropical diseases and genetics
Professor Alan Petersen
Role: Visiting Professor


  • Sociology of health
  • Science and technology studies
  • The body; bioethics
  • Media representations

Professor Barbara Prainsack
Role: Visiting Professor


  • Governance of biosciences
  • Religion and politics
  • Human cloning
  • DNA profiling and databasing in medicine and forensics.
Professor Ian Robinson
Role: Emeritus Professor
Email: ian.robinson@brunel.ac.uk

  • Cultural & social aspects of health and illness
  • Ethical issues in social research
  • Institutional & structural foundation & operation of health care
Professor Catherine Waldby
Role: Visiting Professor


  • Science & technology studies
  • The body; bioethics; global biopolitics
  • Feminist theory
  • New reproductive technologies

Page last updated: Thursday 01 August 2013