Exit Menu

Pick of talented poets make prize shortlist


A record 900 entries to Brunel University London’s annual African Poetry Prize has been reduced to a shortlist of ten talented poets.

Now in its fourth year, the £3,000 prize, held in partnership with Commonwealth Writers cultural initiative, looks to develop, celebrate and promote poetry from Africa.

This year’s judges include poets, critics and academics, including Dr Kwame Dawes from the University of Nebraska; Dr Tsitsi Jaji from the University of Pennsylvania; Dr John Keene from Rutgers University; Dr Helen Yitah from the University of Ghana; and chair and founder, Dr Bernardine Evaristo, Professor of Creative Writing at Brunel.

The ten new poets on this year’s shortlist are:

Gbenga Adesina (Nigeria); Victoria-Anne Bulley (Ghana); Mary-Alice Daniel (Nigeria); Chekwube O Danladi (Nigeria); Amy Lukau (Angola); Ngwatilo Mawiyoo (Kenya); Momtaza Mehri (Eritrea/Somalia); Saradha Soobrayen (Mauritius); Warsan Shire (Somalia) and Chimwemwe Undi (Zambia/Zimbabwe/Namibia)

The winner will be announced on 11 May. For more more information on the poets and to view their poems, visit http://www.africanpoetryprize.org/