Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Arts and Humanities

Browse Divisions

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Emily Baines Dr Emily Baines
Lecturer in Music
Dr. Emily Baines is a professional recorder player, lecturer and musical director working throu...
T: +44 (0)1895 266856
E: emily.baines@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266856 emily.baines@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 022
Dr Gianluca Balla Dr Gianluca Balla
Lecturer in Games Design (Art)
Gianluca Balla is a lecturer in Games Art. He completed a Ph.D. in film directing and visual effects...
T: +44 (0)1895 267923
E: gianluca.balla@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267923 gianluca.balla@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 145
Professor Johannes Birringer Professor Johannes Birringer
Professor - Drama & Performance
Johannes Birringer joined Brunel University London's School of Arts (now College of Business, Arts a...
T: +44 (0)1895 267343
E: johannes.birringer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267343 johannes.birringer@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 105
Mr Ramon Bloomberg Mr Ramon Bloomberg
Lecturer in Film Production
T: +44 (0)1895 265028
E: ramon.bloomberg@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265028 ramon.bloomberg@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 164
Professor Susan Broadhurst Professor Susan Broadhurst
Divisional Lead/Professor - Performance & Technology
I am a writer and performance practitioner in the Department of Arts and Humanities. I am also Profe...
T: +44 (0)1895 266588
E: susan.broadhurst@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266588 susan.broadhurst@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 104
Dr Marco Benoit Carbone Dr Marco Benoit Carbone
Lecturer in Games Design
Marco Benoît Carbone (PhD Cultural Studies, UCL) specialises in cultural representati...
T: +44 (0)1895 267265
E: marcobenoit.carbone@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267265 marcobenoit.carbone@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 145
Dr James Carney Dr James Carney
Research Fellow II
Currently, I am employed on a Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellowship. This involves using mach...
T: +44 (0)1895 268511
E: james.carney@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268511 james.carney@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 029
Dr Broderick Chow Dr Broderick Chow
Reader - Teaching and Learning
Dr Broderick Chow is an artist-scholar whose research explores how social, political and h...
T: +44 (0)1895 265493
E: broderick.chow@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265493 broderick.chow@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 111
Mrs Josephine Coleman Mrs Josephine Coleman
Lecturer in Media and Public Relations
As a Geography graduate from Cambridge University, Josephine first worked as a promotions and PR Exe...
T: +44 (0)1895 266620
E: josephine.coleman@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266620 josephine.coleman@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 166
Dr Jessica Cox Dr Jessica Cox
Senior Lecturer in English Literature
Jessica obtained her PhD from Swansea University in 2007 and worked as a lecturer at the University ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266402
E: jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266402 jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 126
Mr Chris Cox Mr Chris Cox
Senior Lecturer (Education) in Games
Chris lectures in Games Design and Games Application. He has an MA in Games Theory and Design from B...
T: +44 (0)1895 265696
E: chris.cox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265696 chris.cox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 151
Dr John Croft Dr John Croft
Reader - Music
John Croft (b. 1971) studied philosophy and music at the Victoria University of Wellington, and comp...
T: +44 (0)1895 266583
E: john.croft@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266583 john.croft@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 030
Dr Thaleia Deniozou Dr Thaleia Deniozou
Senior Lecturer (Education)
Thaleia is a Senior Lecturer in Games Art. She is also the Programme Director for the MA Digital Gam...
T: +44 (0)1895 265787
E: thaleia.deniozou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265787 thaleia.deniozou@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 152
Dr Mariza Dima Dr Mariza Dima
Lecturer in Games Design
Mariza is a Lecturer in Games Design. She specialises in User Experience and User Interface design f...
T: +44 (0)1895 267313
E: mariza.dima@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267313 mariza.dima@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 175
Ms Charlotte Dingle Ms Charlotte Dingle
PhD Student
My Creative Writing PhD is focused on producing a piece of historiographic metafiction about the Sum...
E: charlotte.dingle@brunel.ac.uk
charlotte.dingle@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Kirsty Edwards-Capes Miss Kirsty Edwards-Capes
PhD Student
I have been studying for my practice-based PhD in Creative Writing since October 2015 at Brunel Univ...
E: kirsty.edwards-capes2@brunel.ac.uk
kirsty.edwards-capes2@brunel.ac.uk
Ms Meretta Elliott Ms Meretta Elliott
Head of Department / Reader - Arts & Humanities
Meretta trained as an actress at the School of Theatre in Manchester and went on to complete an MA i...
T: +44 (0)1895 266567
E: meretta.elliott@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266567 meretta.elliott@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 102
Professor Bernardine Evaristo Professor Bernardine Evaristo
Professor - Creative Writing
Professor Bernardine Evaristo is the award-winning auhtor of eight books of fiction and verse fictio...
T: +44 (0)1895 267240
E: bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267240 bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 132
Dr Carl Faia Dr Carl Faia
Lecturer in Digital Programmes
Dr Carl Faia studied composition at the University of California at Santa Barbara with Peter Racine ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265501
E: carl.faiaharrison@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265501 carl.faiaharrison@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 021
Professor Christopher Fox Professor Christopher Fox
Professor - Music
Christopher Fox is a composer, teacher and writer on new music. Between 1984 and 1994 he was a membe...
T: +44 (0)1895 267256
E: christopher.fox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267256 christopher.fox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 023
Dr Dominik Havsteen-Franklin Dr Dominik Havsteen-Franklin
Professor - Practice Arts Therapy
In 2011 Dominik founded and became head of the International Centre for Arts Psychotherapies Trainin...
T: +44 (0)1895 266060
E: dominik.havsteen-franklin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266060 dominik.havsteen-franklin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 028
Dr Sean Holmes Dr Sean Holmes
Vice Dean International
Dr Sean Holmes is Vice Dean International for the College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266832
E: sean.holmes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266832 sean.holmes@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 162
Dr Emily Horton Dr Emily Horton
Lecturer
Emily received her PhD from the University of Nottingham in 2009 and worked at various universities,...
T: +44 (0)1895 266369
E: emily.horton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266369 emily.horton@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 143
Dr Nick Hubble Dr Nick Hubble
Reader
Nick Hubble is Reader in English and Co-Director of the Brunel Centre for Contemporary Writing (BCCW...
T: +44 (0)1895 266245
E: nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266245 nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 123
Dr Leon Hunt Dr Leon Hunt
Senior Lecturer - Arts and Humanities
Leon is a Senior Lecturer in Film and TV Studies. His teaching and research interests include Hong K...
T: +44 (0)1895 266586
E: leon.hunt@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266586 leon.hunt@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 160
Dr David Ingram Dr David Ingram
Senior Lecturer in Screen Media And Journalism
David graduated from Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge with a degree in English. He then co...
T: +44 (0)1895 266587
E: david.ingram@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266587 david.ingram@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 159
Dr Andra Ivanescu Dr Andra Ivanescu
Lecturer in Games Studies
Andra is a Lecturer in Game Studies and a ludomusicologist. Andra’s research interests are bro...
T: +44 (0)1895 265924
E: andra.ivanescu@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265924 andra.ivanescu@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 175
Professor Geoff King Professor Geoff King
Professor - Film Studies
Geoff King has published numerous books, particularly focused on Hollywood and American independent ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265826
E: geoff.king@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265826 geoff.king@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 167
Dr Max Kinnings Dr Max Kinnings
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Max is the author of four novels, HITMAN (2000), THE FIXER (2001), both published by Hodder & St...
T: +44 (0)1895 267769
E: max.kinnings@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267769 max.kinnings@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 128
Mr Frazer Lee Mr Frazer Lee
Creative Writing Undergraduate Programme Leader
Frazer Lee is a novelist, screenwriter and director. His screen credits include the award-winning sh...
T: +44 (0)1895 266578
E: frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266578 frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 130
Dr Kate Lewis Dr Kate Lewis
Lecturer in Music
Kate Lewis is a multi-genre guitarist, educator and researcher. She holds a BMus (Hons) and MMu...
T: +44 (0)1895 267235
E: kate.lewis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267235 kate.lewis@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 022
Ms Hannah Lowe Ms Hannah Lowe
Lecturer in Creative Writing
Hannah Lowe is a Lecturer in Creative Writing. She is a poet and memoirist, whose work lies between ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267967
E: hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267967 hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 127
Dr Claire Lynch Dr Claire Lynch
Reader
Claire Lynch is a Reader in English and Irish Literature at Brunel University London. A graduate of ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266475
E: claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266475 claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 134
Dr Holly Maples Dr Holly Maples
Senior Lecturer in Theatre
Holly has a PhD from Trinity College Dublin (2008) on Commemoration and the Irish National Theatre, ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266580
E: holly.maples@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266580 holly.maples@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 114
Mr Mario Michaelides Mr Mario Michaelides
Senior Lecturer (Education) in Games Design
Mario Michaelides is a Senior Lecturer in Games Design. For over 15 years, Mario has dedicated his c...
T: +44 (0)1895 266167
E: mario.michaelides@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266167 mario.michaelides@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 152
Dr Royona Mitra Dr Royona Mitra
Reader - Dance and Performance Cultures
Royona is the author of Akram Khan: Dancing New Interculturalism (Palgrave, May 2015). Her book is t...
T: +44 (0)1895 266821
E: royona.mitra@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266821 royona.mitra@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 110
Dr Jago Morrison Dr Jago Morrison
Reader - English
Jago Morrison is a specialist in contemporary literature. His key areas of expertise are:Contempor...
T: +44 (0)1895 265827
E: jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265827 jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 129
Ms Rhianna Morse Ms Rhianna Morse
PhD Student
I am a PhD student at Brunel University in the Department of Arts and Humanities. I have received my...
E: rhianna.morse@brunel.ac.uk
rhianna.morse@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Yaser Moustafa Hamed Mr Yaser Moustafa Hamed
PhD Student
Yaser is the Modern Languages Lecturer of Arabic and the Brunel Language Centre Student Activities A...
E: yaser.moustafahamed@brunel.ac.uk
yaser.moustafahamed@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Daljit Nagra Mr Daljit Nagra
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)1895 268711
E: daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268711 daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 135
Dr Katrina O'Loughlin Dr Katrina O'Loughlin
Lecturer in English
T: +44 (0)1895 265809
E: katrina.o'loughlin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265809 katrina.o'loughlin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 143
Dr Deirdre O'neill Dr Deirdre O'neill
Lecturer in Film & Television
Deirdre O’ Neill is a part time lecturer and a filmmaker. Her new book Film as a Radical Pedag...
T: +44 (0)1895 265590
E: deirdre.o'neill@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265590 deirdre.o'neill@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 034
Dr Katerina Paramana Dr Katerina Paramana
Lecturer in Theatre
Dr Katerina Paramana is an artist and scholar, and a Lecturer in Theatre at Brunel University London...
T: +44 (0)1895 268900
E: katerina.paramana@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268900 katerina.paramana@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 109
Mr Justin Parsler Mr Justin Parsler
Associate Dean (QA) - Reader - Games Design
Justin Parsler is a senior lecturer in game design and has earned a living designing and running gam...
T: +44 (0)1895 265214
E: justin.parsler@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265214 justin.parsler@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 122
Ms Sarah Penny Ms Sarah Penny
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Sarah Penny emigrated to the UK from South Africa in 2003 to lecture in Creative Writing at Brunel U...
T: +44 (0)1895 266581
E: sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266581 sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 131
Dr Grant Peterson Dr Grant Peterson
Senior Lecturer in Theatre
Dr. Grant Tyler Peterson joined Brunel in 2013, having previously taught at Royal Holloway, Universi...
T: +44 (0)1895 265543
E: grant.peterson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265543 grant.peterson@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 112
Mrs Iram Qureshi Mrs Iram Qureshi
PhD Student
Iram Qureshi is a British Film & TV Director, Producer and PhD Candidate. She is the winner of B...
E: iram.qureshi@brunel.ac.uk
iram.qureshi@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Mary Richards Dr Mary Richards
Associate Dean/Reader - Theatre
I am a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, Ma...
T: +44 (0)1895 266570
E: mary.richards@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266570 mary.richards@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 108
Mr Colin Riley Mr Colin Riley
Senior Lecturer in Music
Colin Riley's work draws on a range of elements including improvisation, new technologies, song-writ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266582
E: colin.riley@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266582 colin.riley@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 026
Dr Caroline Ruddell Dr Caroline Ruddell
Senior Lecturer
Caroline Ruddell is Programme Lead and Senior Lecturer in Film and Television in the Department of A...
T: +44 (0)1895 267937
E: caroline.ruddell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267937 caroline.ruddell@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 165
Dr Daniele Rugo Dr Daniele Rugo
Reader - Film and TV Practice
I am an award-winning filmmaker and scholar. My main interests are in documentary and conflict, worl...
T: +44 (0)1895 265353
E: daniele.rugo@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265353 daniele.rugo@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 163
Professor Will Self Professor Will Self
Professor - Modern Thought
Will Self is the author of nine novels, six collections of short stories, three novellas and six non...
T: +44 (0)1895 265913
E: will.self@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265913 will.self@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 139
Dr Iman Sheeha Dr Iman Sheeha
Lecturer in Shakespeare and Early Modern Literature
I joined Brunel English in 2018 as Lecturer in English (Shakespeare and Early Modern Literature). I ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267233
E: iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267233 iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 141
Professor William Spurlin Professor William Spurlin
Vice Dean Research / Professor - English
Before coming to Brunel, Professor Spurlin was Professor of English at the University of Sussex, whe...
T: +44 (0)1895 266234
E: william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266234 william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 142
Ms Fiona Templeton Ms Fiona Templeton
Senior Lecturer in Drama
Fiona Templeton is an internationally recognised innovator in writing and directing for theatre and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266571
E: fiona.templeton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266571 fiona.templeton@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 113
Professor Philip Tew Professor Philip Tew
Professor - English
Philip Tew is Professor of English (Post-1900 Literature) at Brunel, and the Convenor of the MA in E...
T: +44 (0)1895 267257
E: philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267257 philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 138
Mr Gavin Thatcher Mr Gavin Thatcher
Lecturer (Education) in Theatre
Gavin is a Birmingham-based theatre maker, workshop leader, lecturer and researcher in the area of t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267403
E: gavin.thatcher@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267403 gavin.thatcher@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 103
Mr Benjamin James Thomas Mr Benjamin James Thomas
PhD Student
E: benjaminjames.thomas@brunel.ac.uk
benjaminjames.thomas@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Matt Thorne Mr Matt Thorne
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Matt Thorne is the author of six novels, including Eight Minutes Idle, which won an Encore Award for...
T: +44 (0)1895 265839
E: matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265839 matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 133
Professor William Watkin Professor William Watkin
Professor - English
William Watkin is Professor of Contemporary Philosophy and Literature. He has been at Brunel Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 266560
E: william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266560 william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 119
Professor Michael Wayne Professor Michael Wayne
Professor - Media
Michael has been an academic most of his working life. In part this is because studying film at the ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265830
E: michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265830 michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 166
Mr Zhi Xu Mr Zhi Xu
PhD Student
Zhi Xu is a Chinese artist, choreographer, dancer and researcher. He is currently working towards a ...
E: zhi.xu@brunel.ac.uk
zhi.xu@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Benjamin Zephaniah Professor Benjamin Zephaniah
Professor - Creative Writing
Professor Benjamin Zephaniah was one of the pioneers of the performance poetry ‘scene’ i...
T: +44 (0)1895 265294
E: benjamin.zephaniah@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265294 benjamin.zephaniah@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 137