Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Arts and Humanities

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Gianluca Balla Dr Gianluca Balla
Lecturer, Games Design
Gianluca Balla is a lecturer in Games Art. He completed a Ph.D. in film directing and visual effects...
T: +44 (0)1895 267923
E: gianluca.balla@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267923 gianluca.balla@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 145
Professor Johannes Birringer Professor Johannes Birringer
Research Lead and Postgraduate Programme Lead, Theatre
Johannes Birringer joined Brunel University London's School of Arts (now College of Business, Arts a...
T: +44 (0)1895 267343
E: johannes.birringer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267343 johannes.birringer@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 105
Professor Susan Broadhurst Professor Susan Broadhurst
Professor of Performance & Technology,Divisional Lead
I am a writer and performance practitioner in the Department of Arts and Humanities. I am also Profe...
T: +44 (0)1895 266588
E: susan.broadhurst@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266588 susan.broadhurst@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 104
Dr James Carney Dr James Carney
Research Fellow
Currently, I am employed on a Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellowship. This involves using mach...
T: +44 (0)1895 268511
E: james.carney@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268511 james.carney@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 029
Dr Broderick Chow Dr Broderick Chow
Director of Teaching and Learning
Dr Broderick Chow is an artist-scholar whose research explores how social, political and h...
T: +44 (0)1895 265493
E: broderick.chow@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265493 broderick.chow@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 111
Dr Jessica Cox Dr Jessica Cox
Senior Lecturer
Jessica obtained her PhD from Swansea University in 2007 and worked as a lecturer at the University ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266402
E: jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266402 jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 126
Mr Chris Cox Mr Chris Cox
Senior Lecturer/Division Lead for Digital Arts
Chris lectures in Games Design and Games Application. He has an MA in Games Theory and Design from B...
T: +44 (0)1895 265696
E: chris.cox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265696 chris.cox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 151
Dr John Croft Dr John Croft
Postgraduate Programme Lead, Music
John Croft (b. 1971) studied philosophy and music at the Victoria University of Wellington, and comp...
T: +44 (0)1895 266583
E: john.croft@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266583 john.croft@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 030
Dr Thaleia Deniozou Dr Thaleia Deniozou
Senior Lecturer
Thaleia is a Senior Lecturer in Games Art. She is also the Programme Director for the MA Digital Gam...
T: +44 (0)1895 265787
E: thaleia.deniozou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265787 thaleia.deniozou@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 152
Dr Mariza Dima Dr Mariza Dima
Lecturer
Mariza is a Lecturer in Games Design. She holds a PhD in Human-Computer Interaction Design, an MSc i...
T: +44 (0)1895 267313
E: mariza.dima@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267313 mariza.dima@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 175
Ms Meretta Elliott Ms Meretta Elliott
Head of Arts & Humanities
Meretta trained as an actress at the School of Theatre in Manchester and went on to complete an MA i...
T: +44 (0)1895 266567
E: meretta.elliott@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266567 meretta.elliott@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 102
Professor Bernardine Evaristo Professor Bernardine Evaristo
Research Lead, Creative Writing
Professor Bernardine Evaristo is the award-winning auhtor of eight books of fiction and verse fictio...
T: +44 (0)1895 267240
E: bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267240 bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 132
Mr Carl Faia Mr Carl Faia
Admission Tutor, Music
Dr Carl Faia studied composition at the University of California at Santa Barbara with Peter Racine ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265501
E: carl.faiaharrison@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265501 carl.faiaharrison@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 021
Mr Bill Forbes Mr Bill Forbes
Technician
T: +44 (0)1895 266566
E: william.forbes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266566 william.forbes@brunel.ac.uk Antonin Artaud 111a
Professor Christopher Fox Professor Christopher Fox
Research Lead, Music
Christopher Fox is a composer, teacher and writer on new music. Between 1984 and 1994 he was a membe...
T: +44 (0)1895 267256
E: christopher.fox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267256 christopher.fox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 023
MrProfessor Dominik Havsteen-Franklin MrProfessor Dominik Havsteen-Franklin
Professor of Practice - Arts Therapy
In 2011 Dominik founded and became head of the International Centre for Arts Psychotherapies Trainin...
T: +44 (0)1895 266060
E: dominik.havsteen-franklin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266060 dominik.havsteen-franklin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 028
Dr Sean Holmes Dr Sean Holmes
Vice Dean International
Dr Sean Holmes is Vice Dean International for the College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266832
E: sean.holmes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266832 sean.holmes@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 162
 Emily Horton Emily Horton
Emily received her PhD from the University of Nottingham in 2009 and worked at various universities,...
E: emily.horton@brunel.ac.uk
emily.horton@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Nick Hubble Dr Nick Hubble
Director of Research, Arts & Humanities
Nick Hubble is Reader in English and Co-Director of the Brunel Centre for Contemporary Writing (BCCW...
T: +44 (0)1895 266245
E: nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266245 nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 123
Dr Leon Hunt Dr Leon Hunt
Senior Tutor Arts & Humanities
Leon is a Senior Lecturer in Film and TV Studies. His teaching and research interests include Hong K...
T: +44 (0)1895 266586
E: leon.hunt@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266586 leon.hunt@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 160
Dr David Ingram Dr David Ingram
Senior Lecturer In Screen Media And Journalism
David graduated from Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge with a degree in English. He then co...
T: +44 (0)1895 266587
E: david.ingram@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266587 david.ingram@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 159
Dr Andra Ivanescu Dr Andra Ivanescu
Lecturer in Games Design
Andra is a Lecturer in Game Studies. She holds a PhD in Ludomusicology from Anglia Ruskin University...
T: +44 (0)1895 265924
E: andra.ivanescu@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265924 andra.ivanescu@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 175
Professor Geoff King Professor Geoff King
Professor of Film Studies
Geoff King has published numerous books, particularly focused on Hollywood and American independent ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265826
E: geoff.king@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265826 geoff.king@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 167
Mr Frazer Lee Mr Frazer Lee
Creative Writing Undergraduate Programme Leader
Frazer Lee is a novelist, screenwriter and director. His screen credits include the award-winning sh...
T: +44 (0)1895 266578
E: frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266578 frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 130
Ms Hannah Lowe Ms Hannah Lowe
Lecturer in Creative Writing
Hannah Lowe is a Lecturer in Creative Writing. She is a poet and memoirist, whose work lies between ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267967
E: hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267967 hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 127
Dr Claire Lynch Dr Claire Lynch
Reader
Claire Lynch is programme leader for the English BA at Brunel University London. A graduate of the U...
T: +44 (0)1895 266475
E: claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266475 claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 134
Dr Holly Maples Dr Holly Maples
Senior Lecturer in Theatre /Theatre Admissions Tutor
Holly has a PhD from Trinity College Dublin (2008) on Commemoration and the Irish National Theatre, ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266580
E: holly.maples@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266580 holly.maples@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 114
Mr Mario Michaelides Mr Mario Michaelides
Senior Lecturer
Mario Michaelides is a Senior Lecturer in Games Design. For over 15 years, Mario has dedicated his c...
T: +44 (0)1895 266167
E: mario.michaelides@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266167 mario.michaelides@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 152
Dr Royona Mitra Dr Royona Mitra
Reader in Dance & Performance Cultures
Royona is the author of Akram Khan: Dancing New Interculturalism (Palgrave, May 2015). Her book is t...
T: +44 (0)1895 266821
E: royona.mitra@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266821 royona.mitra@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 103
Dr Jago Morrison Dr Jago Morrison
Senior Lecturer / Divisional Lead
Jago Morrison is a specialist in contemporary literature. His key areas of expertise are:Contempor...
T: +44 (0)1895 265827
E: jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265827 jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 129
Mr Daljit Nagra Mr Daljit Nagra
Admissions Tutor for Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)1895 268711
E: daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268711 daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 135
Dr Deirdre O'neill Dr Deirdre O'neill
Lecturer in Film & Television Studies
Deirdre O’ Neill is a part time lecturer and a filmmaker. Her new book Film as a Radical Pedag...
T: +44 (0)1895 265590
E: deirdre.o'neill@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265590 deirdre.o'neill@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 166
Dr Katerina Paramana Dr Katerina Paramana
Lecturer
Dr Katerina Paramana is an artist and scholar, and a Lecturer in Theatre at Brunel University London...
T: +44 (0)1895 268900
E: katerina.paramana@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268900 katerina.paramana@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 109
Mr Justin Parsler Mr Justin Parsler
Associate Dean (QA) (CBASS) Senior Lecturer in Games Design
Justin Parsler is a senior lecturer in game design and has earned a living designing and running gam...
T: +44 (0)1895 265214
E: justin.parsler@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265214 justin.parsler@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 151
Ms Sarah Penny Ms Sarah Penny
English Creative Writing Lecturer
Sarah Penny emigrated to the UK from South Africa in 2003 to lecture in Creative Writing at Brunel U...
T: +44 (0)1895 266581
E: sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266581 sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 131
Dr Grant Peterson Dr Grant Peterson
Lecturer in Theatre
Dr. Grant Tyler Peterson joined Brunel in 2013, having previously taught at Royal Holloway, Universi...
T: +44 (0)1895 265543
E: grant.peterson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265543 grant.peterson@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 112
Mr Colin Riley Mr Colin Riley
Senior Lecturer Music
Colin Riley's work draws on a range of elements including improvisation, new technologies, song-writ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266582
E: colin.riley@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266582 colin.riley@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 026
Dr Caroline Ruddell Dr Caroline Ruddell
Senior Lecturer
Caroline Ruddell joined the Screen Media department in June 2013 as Lecturer in Film and Television....
T: +44 (0)1895 267937
E: caroline.ruddell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267937 caroline.ruddell@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 165
Dr Daniele Rugo Dr Daniele Rugo
Senior Lecturer in Film and TV Practice
My main interests are in world cinema, film-philosophy and documentary. My filmmaking projects explo...
T: +44 (0)1895 265353
E: daniele.rugo@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265353 daniele.rugo@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 163
Professor Will Self Professor Will Self
Professor Of Contemporary Thought
Will Self is the author of nine novels, six collections of short stories, three novellas and six non...
T: +44 (0)1895 265913
E: will.self@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265913 will.self@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 139
Mr Graeme Shaw Mr Graeme Shaw
Music Technician
T: +44 (0)1895 266575
E: graeme.shaw@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266575 graeme.shaw@brunel.ac.uk Antonin Artaud 014
 Iman Sheeha Iman Sheeha
Lecturer in English
T: +44 (0)1895 267233
E: iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267233 iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 128
Mr Andrew Smith Mr Andrew Smith
Operations Manager
T: +44 (0)1895 267661
E: andrew.smith@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267661 andrew.smith@brunel.ac.uk Antonin Artaud 014
Professor William Spurlin Professor William Spurlin
Professor of English/Vice Dean Education (CBASS)
Before coming to Brunel, Professor Spurlin was Professor of English at the University of Sussex, whe...
T: +44 (0)1895 266234
E: william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266234 william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 142
Ms Fiona Templeton Ms Fiona Templeton
Senior Lecturer Drama
Fiona Templeton is an internationally recognised innovator in writing and directing for theatre and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266571
E: fiona.templeton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266571 fiona.templeton@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 113
Professor Philip Tew Professor Philip Tew
Postgraduate Programme Lead, English
Philip Tew is Professor of English (Post-1900 Literature) at Brunel, and the Convenor of the MA in E...
T: +44 (0)1895 267257
E: philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267257 philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 138
Mr Gavin Thatcher Mr Gavin Thatcher
Lecturer (Education) in Theatre
Gavin is a Birmingham-based theatre maker, workshop leader, lecturer and researcher in the area of t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267403
E: gavin.thatcher@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267403 gavin.thatcher@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 110
Mr Matt Thorne Mr Matt Thorne
Postgraduate Programme Lead, Creative Writing for MA Novel
Matt Thorne is the author of six novels, including Eight Minutes Idle, which won an Encore Award for...
T: +44 (0)1895 265839
E: matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265839 matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 133
Professor William Watkin Professor William Watkin
Professor in English
William Watkin is Professor of Contemporary Philosophy and Literature. He has been at Brunel Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 266560
E: william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266560 william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 119
Professor Michael Wayne Professor Michael Wayne
Professor in Media
Michael has been an academic most of his working life. In part this is because studying film at the ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265830
E: michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265830 michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 166
Professor Peter Wiegold Professor Peter Wiegold
Professor, Music & Theatre
Peter has been a regular conductor of the Composers' Ensemble, most recently at The Royal Acade...
T: +44 (0)1895 266585
E: peter.wiegold@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266585 peter.wiegold@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 027