Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Social and Political Sciences
Politics and History

Browse Subjects

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Omer Aijazi Dr Omer Aijazi
Lecturer in Global Challenges
I am an anti-disciplinary scholar, critical theorist, and ethnographer of South Asia, working on que...
E: omer.aijazi@brunel.ac.uk
omer.aijazi@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Alison Carrol Dr Alison Carrol
Senior Lecturer in European History
I am a historian of Modern Europe, and I have worked on various dimensions of the history of borders...
T: +44 (0)1895 267980
E: alison.carrol@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267980 alison.carrol@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 215
Dr Owen Coggins Dr Owen Coggins
Leverhulme Trust Early Career Research Fellow
Owen has a Leverhulme Early Career Fellowship (September 2019 – September 2022), investigating...
E: owen.coggins@brunel.ac.uk
owen.coggins@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 027
Dr Gareth Dale Dr Gareth Dale
Senior Lecturer in Political Economy
Gareth worked at Birkbeck, the LSE and Swansea University before joining Brunel ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267298
E: gareth.dale@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267298 gareth.dale@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 214
Professor Philip Davies Professor Philip Davies
Professor - Intelligence Studies / Director of BCISS
Although born in England, I took my first two degrees in Canada then returned to pursue my PhD at Re...
T: +44 (0)1895 266827
E: philip.davies@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266827 philip.davies@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 226
Dr Filippo Dellucchese Dr Filippo Dellucchese
Senior Lecturer in Political Thought
I completed my PhD in 2002 in History of Political Thought at the University of Pisa. After a four y...
T: +44 (0)1895 267880
E: filippo.dellucchese@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267880 filippo.dellucchese@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 227
Dr Inge Dornan Dr Inge Dornan
Senior Lecturer in the History of Race and Gender
Inge Dornan is a scholar and lecturer in histories of race and gender in Britain and the Americas. S...
T: +44 (0)1895 266831
E: inge.dornan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266831 inge.dornan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 228
Professor Justin Fisher Professor Justin Fisher
Director of Policy Unit / Professor of Political Science
After nearly three years working in market research, I took my first degree and then moved on to a P...
T: +44 (0)1895 266309
E: justin.fisher@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266309 justin.fisher@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 208
Dr Martin Folly Dr Martin Folly
Senior Lecturer in International History
I studied for my PhD under Donald Cameron Watt and Antony Best at the London School of Economics, an...
T: +44 (0)1895 266823
E: martin.folly@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266823 martin.folly@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 230
Dr Stuart Fox Dr Stuart Fox
Lecturer in British Politics
Dr Stuart Fox joined the department as a Lecturer in British Politics in 2019. Before that he w...
T: +44 (0)1895 267979
E: stuart.fox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267979 stuart.fox@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 221
Dr Kristian Gustafson Dr Kristian Gustafson
Reader
Dr. Gustafson is Reader in Intelligence & War. He is the Deputy Director of BCISS and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265436
E: kristian.gustafson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265436 kristian.gustafson@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 218
Dr Richard Hammond Dr Richard Hammond
Lecturer in War Studies
I am a Lecturer in War Studies in the History and Politics Division. Prior to this I held positions ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267528
E: richard.hammond@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267528 richard.hammond@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 205
Dr Martin Hansen Dr Martin Hansen
Reader - Politics
Dr Martin Ejnar Hansen is a political scientist specialising in Comparative European Politics and Pu...
T: +44 (0)1895 267715
E: martin.hansen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267715 martin.hansen@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 220
Dr Luke Heslop Dr Luke Heslop
Lecturer in Anthropology
I trained in anthropology at the University of Edinburgh (PhD 2015) and was a Fellow at the London S...
T: +44 (0)1895 266252
E: luke.heslop@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266252 luke.heslop@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Hughes Professor Matthew Hughes
Professor of Military History
Matthew Hughes studied at the School of Oriental and African Studies and at the London School of Eco...
T: +44 (0)1895 266872
E: matthew.hughes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266872 matthew.hughes@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 210
Mrs Mandekh Hussein Mrs Mandekh Hussein
Lecturer (Professional Practice) in Global Challenges
E: mandekh.hussein@brunel.ac.uk
mandekh.hussein@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Jeffrey Karp Professor Jeffrey Karp
Professor - Comparative Politics
Jeffrey Karp is a political scientist specialising in research on public opinion, elections, and pol...
T: +44 (0)1895 265632
E: jeffrey.karp@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265632 jeffrey.karp@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 201
Dr John Macmillan Dr John Macmillan
Senior Lecturer in International Relations
The inter-disciplinary nature of International Relations has, for me, always been one of the most st...
T: +44 (0)1895 266101
E: john.macmillan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266101 john.macmillan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 216
Professor Kenneth Morgan Professor Kenneth Morgan
Professor - Maritime History
I am primarily an economic and social historian of the British Atlantic world in the ‘long’ eighteen...
T: +44 (0)1895 266828
E: kenneth.morgan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266828 kenneth.morgan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 211
Dr Nibedita Mukherjee Dr Nibedita Mukherjee
Lecturer in Global Challenges
Nibedita Mukherjee is  interested in how decisions are shaped in conservation. Her current rese...
E: nibedita.mukherjee@brunel.ac.uk
nibedita.mukherjee@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Mark Neocleous Professor Mark Neocleous
Professor - Critique of Political Economy
My current role is Professor of the Critique of Political Economy in the Department of Social and Po...
T: +44 (0)1895 266824
E: mark.neocleous@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266824 mark.neocleous@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 202
Dr Niall Palmer Dr Niall Palmer
Lecturer in American Politics
I studied for my BA in Politics at Swansea University and graduated in 1984. I then undertook my PhD...
T: +44 (0)1895 266826
E: niall.palmer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266826 niall.palmer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 224
Professor Julian Petley Professor Julian Petley
Honorary Professor - SPS
During his career, Julian has moved back and forth between working in the media and t...
T: +44 (0)1895 265479
E: julian.petley@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265479 julian.petley@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 164
Dr Steve Pickering Dr Steve Pickering
Senior Lecturer in Conflict and International Relations
I completed my Ph.D. at the University of Lancaster in 2010. Since then, I have held positions at th...
T: +44 (0)1895 268357
E: steve.pickering@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268357 steve.pickering@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 213
Dr Daniela Richterova Dr Daniela Richterova
Lecturer in Intelligence Studies
Dr Daniela Richterova is a Lecturer in Intelligence Studies at Brunel University London. Her researc...
T: +44 (0)1895 265521
E: daniela.richterova@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265521 daniela.richterova@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 203
Dr Katja Sarmiento-Mirwaldt Dr Katja Sarmiento-Mirwaldt
Senior Lecturer
I completed my PhD in 2007 with the support of the ESRC and the University of Essex. I then joined t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267717
E: katja.sarmiento-mirwaldt@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267717 katja.sarmiento-mirwaldt@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 219
Dr Manu Savani Dr Manu Savani
Lecturer in Behavioural Public Policy
I am Lecturer in Public Policy, with interests in behavioural public policy and 'nudges', health beh...
T: +44 (0)1895 267985
E: manu.savani@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267985 manu.savani@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 234
Professor Matthew Seligmann Professor Matthew Seligmann
Divisional Lead / Professor of Naval History
I spent my first eighteen years living and working in London before deciding to follow my passion an...
T: +44 (0)1895 267261
E: matthew.seligmann@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267261 matthew.seligmann@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 212
Dr Peter Thomas Dr Peter Thomas
Head of Department / Reader - History of Political Thought
Dr Peter D. Thomas is an historian of political thought, an historian of philosophy and a political ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267573
E: peter.thomas2@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267573 peter.thomas2@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 229
Dr James Thomson Dr James Thomson
Honorary Research Fellow - SPS
Doctoral Researcher at the Brunel Centre for Intelligence and Security Studies at Brunel University ...
E: james.thomson@brunel.ac.uk
james.thomson@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Varun Uberoi Dr Varun Uberoi
Reader - Political Theory and Public Policy
I am a political theorist of multiculturalism and my research has four related aims. First, I examin...
T: +44 (0)1895 265858
E: varun.uberoi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265858 varun.uberoi@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 231
Dr Steven Wagner Dr Steven Wagner
Lecturer in International Security
I am an historian of intelligence, security, empire and the modern Middle East. Before coming to Bru...
T: +44 (0)1895 268984
E: steven.wagner@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268984 steven.wagner@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 217
Mrs Sharon Weaver Mrs Sharon Weaver
Department Administrator
T: +44 (0)1895 266857
E: sharon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266857 sharon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 204
Dr Hannah Whittaker Dr Hannah Whittaker
Senior Lecturer in African History
Hannah is an historian of modern Africa. Her research is mainly focused on issues relating to coloni...
T: +44 (0)1895 267174
E: hannah.whittaker@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267174 hannah.whittaker@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 225