Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Mayo Adetoro Dr Mayo Adetoro
Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 266283
E: mayo.adetoro@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266283 mayo.adetoro@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 127
Dr Giulio Alfano Dr Giulio Alfano
Reader - Mechanical Engineering
Academic CareerReader in Computational Mechanics, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil En...
T: +44 (0)1895 267062
E: giulio.alfano@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267062 giulio.alfano@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 108
Professor Mark Atherton Professor Mark Atherton
Professor
  Mark is a Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. He&n...
T: +44 (0)1895 266690
E: mark.atherton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266690 mark.atherton@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 113
Dr Colin Axon Dr Colin Axon
Senior Lecturer
Senior Lecturer in the Institute of Energy Futures. My research is about the use of energy in the ur...
T: +44 (0)1895 267932
E: colin.axon@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267932 colin.axon@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 121
Mr Oliver Buchan Mr Oliver Buchan
HP Lecturer - Mechanical Engineering
Oliver Buchan is an educator and consultant specialising in light integration within the built envir...
E: oliver.buchan@brunel.ac.uk
oliver.buchan@brunel.ac.uk
Dr James Campbell Dr James Campbell
Reader - Structural Integrity
Dr James Campbell is Reader in Structural Integrity at the National Structural Integrity Research Ce...
T: +44 (0)1223899000
E: james.campbell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223899000 james.campbell@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Rui Cardoso Dr Rui Cardoso
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 268427
E: rui.cardoso@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268427 rui.cardoso@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 125
Professor Kai Cheng Professor Kai Cheng
Head of AMEE / Professor
EDUCATION AND DEGREES BEng (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering, 1st Class, Harbin Institute of Technol...
T: +44 (0)1895 267255
E: kai.cheng@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267255 kai.cheng@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 208
Dr Tze Pei Chong Dr Tze Pei Chong
Reader/Industrial Placement Tutor
T: +44 (0)1895 266370
E: t.p.chong@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266370 t.p.chong@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 117
Dr Rebecca De Coster Dr Rebecca De Coster
Lecturer in Innovation
Rebecca De Coster is a Lecturer in Innovation in the AMEE group and is Course Director for the new M...
T: +44 (0)1895 265784
E: rebecca.decoster@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265784 rebecca.decoster@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 207
Dr Zahir Dehouche Dr Zahir Dehouche
Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 267559
E: zahir.dehouche@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267559 zahir.dehouche@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 128
Dr Nenad Djordjevic Dr Nenad Djordjevic
Senior Lecturer in Structural Integrity
Dr Nenad Djordjevic joined the Applied Mechanics and Astronautics Department at Cranfield University...
T: +44 (0)1223940106
E: nenad.djordjevic@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223940106 nenad.djordjevic@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Xinli Du Dr Xinli Du
Senior Lecturer in Robotics & Autonomous Systems
Dr Xinli Du joined Brunel Institute for Bioengineering as a Research Lecturer in August 2010. Xinli&...
T: +44 (0)1895 265848
E: xinli.du@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265848 xinli.du@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 310
Professor Ibrahim Esat Professor Ibrahim Esat
Professor
T: +44 (0)1895 266681
E: ibrahim.esat@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266681 ibrahim.esat@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 129
Professor Lionel Ganippa Professor Lionel Ganippa
Professor
Academic and Professional Qualifications PhD - Internal Combustion Engines – Chalmers University of...
T: +44 (0)1895 266721
E: lionel.ganippa@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266721 lionel.ganippa@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 103A
Dr Alvin Gatto Dr Alvin Gatto
Senior Lecturer/UG Course Director
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace 2015-present Teaching Qualifications: Postgraduate Certificate in Learn...
T: +44 (0)1895 267434
E: alvin.gatto@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267434 alvin.gatto@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 130
Dr Marius Gintalas Dr Marius Gintalas
Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering
Dr Marius Gintalas obtained his doctoral degree in Mechanical Engineering studying fracture toughnes...
E: marius.gintalas@brunel.ac.uk
marius.gintalas@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Susan Grant Dr Susan Grant
Senior Lecturer
Susan‘s research interests lie in the area of lean and agile supply chains across manufacturing and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265384
E: susan.grant@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265384 susan.grant@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 206
Dr Guy Gratton Dr Guy Gratton
HP Lecturer - Mechanical Engineering
Guy Gratton is a chartered aeronautical and mechanical engineer, with extensive experience across ai...
T: +44 (0)1895 267064
E: guy.gratton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267064 guy.gratton@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 103
Mrs Petra Gratton Mrs Petra Gratton
Lecturer
Academic ResponsibilitiesAdmissions Tutor for all undergraduate courses in the Mechanical Engin...
T: +44 (0)1895 266684
E: petra.gratton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266684 petra.gratton@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 115
Dr Kevin Hughes Dr Kevin Hughes
Senior Lecturer in Structural Integrity
Dr Kevin Hughes graduated from Cranfield University where he obtained an MSc in Astronautics and Spa...
T: +44 (0)1223940107
E: kevin.hughes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223940107 kevin.hughes@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Atanas Ivanov Dr Atanas Ivanov
Reader - Advanced Engineering Design
T: +44 (0)1895 265220
E: atanas.ivanov@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265220 atanas.ivanov@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 204
Dr Changzhao Jiang Dr Changzhao Jiang
Lecturer in Engines and Fuels
Dr Changzhao Jiang is a Lecturer in Engines and Fuels in the department of Mechanical and Aerospace ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267954
E: changzhao.jiang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267954 changzhao.jiang@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 18444
Professor Hussam Jouhara Professor Hussam Jouhara
Professor/Department Director for Research
Having worked in academia and the industry, Hussam has unique expertise in working on applied heat e...
T: +44 (0)1895 267805
E: hussam.jouhara@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267805 hussam.jouhara@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 110
Professor Tassos Karayiannis Professor Tassos Karayiannis
Professor
EDUCATIONPhD 1986, Engineering Science, Natural Convection in rectangular Cavities, The Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 267132
E: tassos.karayiannis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267132 tassos.karayiannis@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 255
Professor Ashraf Khir Professor Ashraf Khir
Professor - Cardiovascular Mechanics
T: +44 (0)1895 265857
E: ashraf.khir@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265857 ashraf.khir@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 001
Dr Carola Koenig Dr Carola Koenig
Vice Dean (International) / Senior Lecturer
Carola König is a Senior Lecturer in the College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences a...
T: +44 (0)1895 266915
E: carola.koenig@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266915 carola.koenig@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 134
Professor Maria Kolokotroni Professor Maria Kolokotroni
Associate Dean E&D / Professor
Academic Career I studied for an MSc in Environmental Design and Engineering at the Bartlett School,...
T: +44 (0)1895 266688
E: maria.kolokotroni@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266688 maria.kolokotroni@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 122
Dr Quan Long Dr Quan Long
Senior Lecturer in Fluid Mechanics
T: +44 (0)1895 266689
E: quan.long@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266689 quan.long@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 101a
Dr Ruth Mackay Dr Ruth Mackay
Lecturer
I am a Mechanical Engineer with a particular interest within the biomedical field.  I gained my...
T: +44 (0)1895 267378
E: ruth.mackay@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267378 ruth.mackay@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 132
Dr Cristinel Mares Dr Cristinel Mares
Reader
T: +44 (0)1895 266718
E: cristinel.mares@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266718 cristinel.mares@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 111
Professor Thanos Megaritis Professor Thanos Megaritis
Professor
Academic Career2011 to date. Professor in Internal Combustion Engines, Brunel University Lond...
T: +44 (0)1895 266682
E: thanos.megaritis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266682 thanos.megaritis@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 120
Dr Alireza Mousavi Dr Alireza Mousavi
Reader
Graduated as BEng with equivalent of first class from Tehran Azad University in Industrial Engineeri...
T: +44 (0)1895 265788
E: alireza.mousavi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265788 alireza.mousavi@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 231
Professor Diane Mynors Professor Diane Mynors
Head of Department - MAE
Professor Diane J Mynors is Head of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at B...
T: +44 (0)1895 267603
E: diane.mynors@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267603 diane.mynors@brunel.ac.uk HOWELL BUILDING 109
Dr Yohan Noh Dr Yohan Noh
Lecturer in Manufacturing Engineering
He received his first B.Sc. degreefrom the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Seoul National Univ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267504
E: yohan.noh@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267504 yohan.noh@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 124
Dr Harjit Singh Dr Harjit Singh
Senior Lecturer
Dr Singh received his BEng, and MEng (IIT Roorkee, India) with specialisation in Mechanical and Ther...
T: +44 (0)1895 265468
E: harjit.singh@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265468 harjit.singh@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 131
Dr Edward Smith Dr Edward Smith
Lecturer in Fluid Dynamics
Edward Smith (www.edwardsmith.co.uk) is a researcher working on multi-scale methods combining partic...
T: +44 (0)1895 266480
E: edward.smith@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266480 edward.smith@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 105
Dr Valentina Stojceska Dr Valentina Stojceska
Reader
PhD in Food Engineering – School of Biosystems Engineering, University College Dublin Postgraduate C...
T: +44 (0)1895 267328
E: valentina.stojceska@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267328 valentina.stojceska@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 116
Dr Gera Troisi Dr Gera Troisi
Senior Lecturer
Dr Gera M. Troisi is a lecturer in the School of Engineering and Design at Brunel University London ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266958
E: gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266958 gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 126
Dr James Tyacke Dr James Tyacke
Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering (Aerodynamics)
As a Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering, I am primarily interested in Large Eddy Simulation (LES) of ...
E: james.tyacke@brunel.ac.uk
james.tyacke@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 123b
Professor Rade Vignjevic Professor Rade Vignjevic
Professor - Structural Integrity
Professor Rade Vignjevic joined Brunel from Cranfield University, where he was Head of the Applied M...
T: +44 (0)1895 268455
E: v.rade@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268455 v.rade@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Bin Wang Dr Bin Wang
Vice Dean International - CEDPS
Bin Wang graduated with BEng (1985) in Solid Mechanics from Xi’an Jiaotong University, MSc (19...
T: +44 (0)1895 267304
E: bin.wang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267304 bin.wang@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 119
Mr Xinyan Wang Mr Xinyan Wang
Research Fellow - Fellowship Programme
Dr Xinyan Wang graduated with a Master and a PhD degree in State Key Laboratory of Engines (SKLE), T...
T: +44 (0)1895 265903
E: xinyan.wang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265903 xinyan.wang@brunel.ac.uk Michael Sterling 261
Dr Jan Wissink Dr Jan Wissink
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 267371
E: jan.wissink@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267371 jan.wissink@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 112
Dr Jun Xia Dr Jun Xia
Senior Lecturer in Advanced Mechanical Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 265433
E: jun.xia@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265433 jun.xia@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 133
Dr Qingping Yang Dr Qingping Yang
Reader
Dr QingPing Yang is the Director of the Brunel Quality Engineering and Smart Technology (QUEST) Rese...
T: +44 (0)1895 265854
E: qingping.yang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265854 qingping.yang@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 211