Skip to Content
Exit Menu

Professor Diane Mynors
Head of Department - MAE



Professor Diane J Mynors is Head of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Brunel University London.

Over more than a decade, Diane has held leadership positions within the higher education sector. In each case, the underlying and achieved objective has been to enhance the standing of the unit for which she is responsible, achieved by working strategically and efficiently with the team in a way that benefits all stakeholders.

The ability to lead complex multidisciplinary groups is enhanced by a background in physics and manufacturing engineering, both of which are multifaceted disciplines, practitioners of which naturally collaborate with those from many other fields. Knowledge of the manufacturing world further heightens the ability to strategize and implement through an understanding of demand, supply, customers, and the importance of tacit knowledge and planning.

Diane has degrees from both physics and engineering departments. Her doctoral thesis looked at volume ion sources and was supported by Culham Laboratory, UKAEA through an EPSRC CASE award. Following her DPhil, Diane moved to the Department of Mechanical engineering at the University of Bath, as a Research Officer to work on the simulation of metalforming processes. She took up a lectureship within the Department of Manufacturing and Engineering Systems at Brunel University.

Her first leadership position followed when appointed Head of the Department of Engineering at the University of Wolverhampton. Having successfully led and enhanced the Department Diane moved to the University of Sussex as Head of the School of Engineering and Informatics, which also encompassed Product Design and Digital Media. Having successfully grown the School and led significant capital investment projects Diane returned to Brunel to lead the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Diane is a Chartered Physicist and Fellow of the Institute of Physics

She has also received personal awards from:

     The Institution of Mechanical Engineers’ Thomas Stephen Prize

     The Japan Society for Technology of Plasticity

     The Scientific and Technical Research Council of Turkey


DPhil Modelling Volume Ion Sources. University of Oxford, Department of Engineering Science, EPSRC CASE studentship with Culham Laboratory, UKAEA.

MSc The Science and Application of Electric Plasmas. University of Oxford, Department of Engineering Science.

BSc (Hons) Physical Electronics. University of Bradford, Department of Applied Physics.