Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in Institute of Environment, Health and Societies
Welfare, Health and Wellbeing

Name Telephone Email Office
Professor Nicola Ansell Professor Nicola Ansell
Professor - Human Geography
Since I arrived at Brunel in 1999, my interests have focused on social and cultural change in the li...
T: +44 (0)1895 266085
E: nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266085 nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 133
Dr Andrew Beatty Dr Andrew Beatty
Reader in Anthropology
I became interested in anthropology after spending a couple of years travelling in Asia; conducted s...
T: +44 (0)1895 265943
E: andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265943 andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 141
Professor Monica Degen Professor Monica Degen
College Creative Industries Lead / Professor (Education)
Dr Mónica Degen is Professor in Urban Cultural Sociology in the Political and Social Sciences...
T: +44 (0)1895 265940
E: monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265940 monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 149
Dr Terry Dovey Dr Terry Dovey
Head of Department - Life Sciences
I am a behaviourist and specialist in feeding disorders (now called avoidant/restrictive eating diso...
T: +44 (0)1895 266617
E: terry.dovey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266617 terry.dovey@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 261
Dr Carolyn Dunford Dr Carolyn Dunford
Reader in Occupational Therapy
Carolyn has a long and varied occupational therapy career combining clinical leadership, and re...
T: +44 (0)1895 268283
E: carolyn.dunford@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268283 carolyn.dunford@brunel.ac.uk Mary Seacole 307B
Dr Peggy Froerer Dr Peggy Froerer
Reader - Anthropology
I found my way into anthropology after studying politics, completing my PhD in Social Anthropology a...
T: +44 (0)1895 265456
E: peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265456 peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 143
Professor Vassil Girginov Professor Vassil Girginov
Professor - Sport Sciences
Dr Vassil Girginov is Professor in Sport Management/Development. Previously he has worked as advisor...
T: +44 (0)1895 266811
E: vassil.girginov@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266811 vassil.girginov@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 213
Dr Yohai Hakak Dr Yohai Hakak
Senior Lecturer in Social Work
Dr Yohai Hakak joined Brunel in September 2014 as a lecturer in social work. His practice experience...
T: +44 (0)1895 265844
E: yohai.hakak@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265844 yohai.hakak@brunel.ac.uk Mary Seacole 301
Dr Laura Hills Dr Laura Hills
Reader in Sociology of Sport
Laura is the Associate Dean (Equality and Diversity) for the College of Health and Life Sciences. He...
T: +44 (0)1895 267369
E: laura.hills@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267369 laura.hills@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 219
Dr Kate Hoskins Dr Kate Hoskins
Reader - Education
Kate is a Reader in Education with a focus on policy. Her research interests rest on the intersectio...
T: +44 (0)1895 265146
E: kate.hoskins@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265146 kate.hoskins@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 024
Miss Balbir Kaur Miss Balbir Kaur
Lecturer in Primary Initial Teacher Education
Balbir Kaur is a Lecturer in primary teacher education (mathematics) in the Department of Education....
T: +44 (0)1895 268993
E: balbir.kaur@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268993 balbir.kaur@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 063
Dr Charlotte Kerner Dr Charlotte Kerner
Senior Lecturer in Sport Health and Exercise Sciences
Dr Charlotte Kerner is a Senior Lecturer in Sport Health and Exercise Sciences (Youth Sport and...
T: +44 (0)1895 266097
E: charlotte.kerner@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266097 charlotte.kerner@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 211
Dr Sharon Lockyer Dr Sharon Lockyer
Associate Dean – Equality & Diversity (Students) / Reader - Sociology & Communications
Sharon Lockyer is a Reader in Sociology and Communications with an international research track-reco...
T: +44 (0)1895 267373
E: sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267373 sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 146
Professor Louise Mansfield Professor Louise Mansfield
Vice Dean Research / Professor - Sport, Health and Social Sciences
Career History Louise Mansfield is Professor of Sport, Health and Social Sciences and Rese...
T: +44 (0)1895 267561
E: louise.mansfield@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267561 louise.mansfield@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 210
Dr Wendy Martin Dr Wendy Martin
Senior Lecturer
I am a Senior Lecturer in the Division of Health Sciences at Brunel University London. I am a sociol...
T: +44 (0)1895 268747
E: wendy.martin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268747 wendy.martin@brunel.ac.uk Mary Seacole 301
Dr Arthur Money Dr Arthur Money
Reader
Dr Arthur G. Money is a Reader in the Department of Computer Science at Brunel University London, wh...
T: +44 (0)1895 266758
E: arthur.money@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266758 arthur.money@brunel.ac.uk Wilfred Brown Building 114
Dr Annette Payne Dr Annette Payne
Lecturer
Having gained a PhD in 1992 in Molecular Biology from the Royal Postgraduate Medical College, Univer...
T: +44 (0)1895 266295
E: annette.payne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266295 annette.payne@brunel.ac.uk Wilfred Brown Building 210
Ms Sarah Penny Ms Sarah Penny
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Sarah Penny emigrated to the UK from South Africa in 2003 to lecture in Creative Writing at Brunel U...
T: +44 (0)1895 266581
E: sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266581 sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 131
Dr Emma Wainwright Dr Emma Wainwright
Reader
Emma is a Reader and a Geographer with expertise in the geographies of education, training and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266088
E: emma.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266088 emma.wainwright@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 071
Professor Michael Wayne Professor Michael Wayne
Professor - Media
Michael has been an academic most of his working life. In part this is because studying film at the ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265830
E: michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265830 michael.wayne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 166