Skip to main content


Senate is the academic governing body of our University. Its responsibilities and constitution are set out in the Statutes.

Each College Dean is a member of Senate and there are also two elected members from each College. Terms of office are two years (renewable). There are also five student representatives (including the UBS President).

Senate makes recommendations to Council on such matters as the academic organisation of our University, its partnerships with other institutions, tuition fees and scholarships, the direction of research and academic staff promotions. It sets out in Regulations the principles and procedures governing such academic matters as admissions, curriculum design and assessment, awards, student discipline and appeals.

Our College Boards and other major committees, such as the Quality Assurance Committee Committee and the Postgraduate Research Degrees Committee report their business and make recommendations to Senate.

Senate normally meets four times a year. Its papers are available the week before each meeting on the intranet. Minutes are posted once they have been approved in draft by the Chair. Agenda items are mainly derived from the business of Council committees, including Senate, and joint committees with Senate.

If you believe you have an item of business for Senate please contact the Secretary at least two weeks before the date of the next meeting (published in the calendar).

The Chair of Senate is our Vice-Chancellor and the Secretary to Senate is the Deputy Director, Academic and Student Services, Lesley O'Keeffe.