Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in Institute of Environment, Health and Societies
Environment and Health

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Rhona Anderson Dr Rhona Anderson
Reader
Qualifications:FHEA, Brunel University London PhD, Brunel University London MSc, University of Abe...
T: +44 (0)1895 267138
E: rhona.anderson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267138 rhona.anderson@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 126a
Dr Alice Baynes Dr Alice Baynes
Lecturer in Environmental Sciences
My main interests lie in aquatic biology, specifically how anthropogenic stressors, such as environm...
T: +44 (0)1895 267096
E: alice.baynes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267096 alice.baynes@brunel.ac.uk Quad North 150
Mrs Nicola Beresford Mrs Nicola Beresford
Principal Technical Manager (Environmental Sciences)
I started working at Brunel University in 1996, after completing a Masters course at Napier Universi...
T: +44 (0)1895 266298
E: nicola.beresford@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266298 nicola.beresford@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 015b
Dr Concetta Bubici Dr Concetta Bubici
Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 266544
E: concetta.bubici@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266544 concetta.bubici@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 148
Dr Catherine Calvelli Dr Catherine Calvelli
LiME Hub Manager
T: +44 (0)1895 267307
E: catherine.calvelli@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267307 catherine.calvelli@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 142
Dr Abdul Chaudhary Dr Abdul Chaudhary
Senior Lecturer
Qualifications 2002 – 2004 PGCert Brunel University, London, UK 1987 – 1990 PhD City University, Lo...
T: +44 (0)1895 266112
E: abdul.chaudhary@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266112 abdul.chaudhary@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 129
Dr Sara De Benedictis Dr Sara De Benedictis
Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications
Sara joined Brunel in May 2017. She is currently a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications i...
T: +44 (0)1895 265662
E: sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265662 sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 148
Dr Sibylle Ermler Dr Sibylle Ermler
Research Fellow
Sibylle Ermler is a Research Fellow in Human Toxicology in the Department of Life Sciences. She has...
T: +44 (0)1895 267208
E: sibylle.ermler@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267208 sibylle.ermler@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 132
Dr Safiyeh Haghani Dr Safiyeh Haghani
Senior Scientific Officer
E: safiyeh.haghani@brunel.ac.uk
safiyeh.haghani@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Amanda Harvey Dr Amanda Harvey
Deputy Dean (Academic Affairs) / Reader - Biosciences
Qualifications:PhD - Studies into the growth survival and cell death of cancer cell lines, Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 267264
E: amanda.harvey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267264 amanda.harvey@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 130
Dr Mohammad Heidarzadeh Dr Mohammad Heidarzadeh
Senior Lecturer
Dr Mohammad Heidarzadeh is the Secretary General of the International Tsunami Commisson (ITC) a...
T: +44 (0)1895 268853
E: mohammad.heidarzadeh@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268853 mohammad.heidarzadeh@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 206
Dr Thomas Hoefken Dr Thomas Hoefken
Senior Lecturer
Qualifications:1998: PhD, University of Marburg and University of Bochum (Germany) 1993: Diplom in...
T: +44 (0)1895 267847
E: thomas.hoefken@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267847 thomas.hoefken@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 111
Dr Anita Howarth Dr Anita Howarth
Senior Lecturer in Journalism
Anita Howarth specializes in the interaction between journalism/media, politics and risk. She has a ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267047
E: anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267047 anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 176
Dr Eleni Iacovidou Dr Eleni Iacovidou
Lecturer in Environmental Management
My research focuses on environmental management, with emphasis on resource and waste management syst...
T: +44 (0)1895 266122
E: eleni.iacovidou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266122 eleni.iacovidou@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building -
Professor Susan Jobling Professor Susan Jobling
Professor
I am Director of the Institute of Environment, Health and Societies and a Professor of Environm...
T: +44 (0)1895 266284
E: susan.jobling@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266284 susan.jobling@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 146
Professor Rakesh Kanda Professor Rakesh Kanda
Vice Dean International / Professor - Exposome Science
I am an environmental scientist, Professor of exposome science, Fellow of the Institution of Environ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267803
E: rakesh.kanda@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267803 rakesh.kanda@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 130
Dr Emmanouil Karteris Dr Emmanouil Karteris
Reader in Biomedical Sciences
Dr Manos Karteris graduated with a BSc (Hons) in Medical Biochemistry from the University of Surrey ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265892
E: emmanouil.karteris@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265892 emmanouil.karteris@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 129
Dr Evina Katsou Dr Evina Katsou
Professor
Academic / Research Career Dr. Evina Katsou is Reader in Civil & Environmental Engineering and C...
T: +44 (0)1895 265721
E: evina.katsou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265721 evina.katsou@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 234
Professor Andreas Kortenkamp Professor Andreas Kortenkamp
Professor - Human Molecular Toxicology
Traditional chemicals risk assessment has a quite artificial orientation: It treats chemicals as if ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266525
E: andreas.kortenkamp@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266525 andreas.kortenkamp@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 124
Dr Nadarajah Manivannan Dr Nadarajah Manivannan
Senior Lecturer
Dr Manivannan is currently a Lecturer for electronics, computer languages and embedded systems in th...
Dr Olwenn Martin Dr Olwenn Martin
Lecturer in Global Challenges
Building on an academic interdisciplinary background in Natural Sciences and Social Sciences, I hav...
T: +44 (0)1895 268670
E: olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268670 olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 029
Professor Mariann Rand-Weaver Professor Mariann Rand-Weaver
Vice Provost - Education
  With responsibility for quality assurance and for enhancing the quality of the University&rsq...
T: +44 (0)1895 266297
E: mariann.rand-weaver@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266297 mariann.rand-weaver@brunel.ac.uk Eastern Gateway 301C
Dr Terry Roberts Dr Terry Roberts
Lecturer in Biosciences
T: +44 (0)1895 268436
E: terry.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268436 terry.roberts@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 113b
Dr Edwin Routledge Dr Edwin Routledge
Divisional Lead/Reader - Environmental Sciences
I am a molecular endocrinologist and aquatic ecotoxicologist with an interest in the effects of endo...
T: +44 (0)1895 266299
E: edwin.routledge@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266299 edwin.routledge@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 121
Dr Tamsin Runnalls Dr Tamsin Runnalls
LiME Hub Manager
Qualifications 2005: PhD Pharmaceuticals in the Environment: Effects of Clofibric acid on fish. Br...
T: +44 (0)1895 268472
E: tamsin.runnalls@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268472 tamsin.runnalls@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 142
Mr Martin Scholze Mr Martin Scholze
Research Fellow
I am a mathematician with a strong background in statistics and biology. My academic research has c...
T: +44 (0)1895 267208
E: martin.scholze@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267208 martin.scholze@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 132
Dr Mark Scrimshaw Dr Mark Scrimshaw
Reader
I am an environmental scientist, with research focus on water quality and chemicals in the environme...
T: +44 (0)1895 267299
E: mark.scrimshaw@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267299 mark.scrimshaw@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 134
Dr Elisabete Silva Dr Elisabete Silva
Divisional Lead / Reader in Human Toxicology
T: +44 (0)1895 265330
E: elisabete.silva@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265330 elisabete.silva@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 231
Dr Georgia Spiliotopoulou Dr Georgia Spiliotopoulou
Senior Lecturer in Occupational Therapy
Prior to joining the Department of Clinical Sciences, Georgia worked in physical, learning disabilit...
T: +44 (0)1895 268827
E: georgia.spiliotopoulou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268827 georgia.spiliotopoulou@brunel.ac.uk Mary Seacole 2nd Floor,Bay 41
Dr Gudrun Stenbeck Dr Gudrun Stenbeck
Lecturer/Work Placement Co-Ordinator
Qualifications: 1993: PhD in Chemical Technology/Biochemistry, Technical University Darmstadt, Germa...
T: +44 (0)1895 265891
E: gudrun.stenbeck@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265891 gudrun.stenbeck@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 233
Professor John Sumpter Professor John Sumpter
Professor
E: john.sumpter@brunel.ac.uk
john.sumpter@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 128
Dr Sabrina Tosi Dr Sabrina Tosi
Senior Lecturer
Dr Sabrina Tosi graduated in Biological Sciences at the University of Milan (Italy) in 1989 and then...
T: +44 (0)1895 267218
E: sabrina.tosi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267218 sabrina.tosi@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 131
Dr Gera Troisi Dr Gera Troisi
Senior Lecturer
Dr Gera M. Troisi is a lecturer in the School of Engineering and Design at Brunel University London ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266958
E: gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266958 gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 126
Dr Allan Tucker Dr Allan Tucker
Reader
Allan Tucker is Reader in the Department of Computer Science where he heads the Intelligent Data Ana...
T: +44 (0)1895 266933
E: allan.tucker@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266933 allan.tucker@brunel.ac.uk Wilfred Brown Building 218
Dr Paola Vagnarelli Dr Paola Vagnarelli
Professor - Cell Biology
Qualifications:PhD in Genetics and Molecular Biology, University of Pavia, Italy  Degree in Bio...
T: +44 (0)1895 265025
E: paola.vagnarelli@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265025 paola.vagnarelli@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 106
Dr Mei Yin Dr Mei Yin
Lecturer in Civil and Environmental Engineering
Dr. Mei Yin obtained a PhD degree in Geotechnical Engineering from Cambridge University working on t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267657
E: mei.yin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267657 mei.yin@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 245a
Dr Ariana Zeka Dr Ariana Zeka
Senior Lecturer
I am an environmental epidemiologist and population health scientist. I am currently an academic at ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267359
E: ariana.zeka@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267359 ariana.zeka@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 123