Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Health and Life Sciences
Department of Life Sciences

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Rhona Anderson Dr Rhona Anderson
Lecturer - Final Year Project Co-ordinator
Qualifications: PhD, Brunel University London MSc, University of Aberdeen BSc (Hons), University of ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267138
E: rhona.anderson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267138 rhona.anderson@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 239
Dr Alice Baynes Dr Alice Baynes
Post Doctoral Research Fellow
I am a Research Fellow in the Environment and Health Theme within the Institute of Environment, Heal...
T: +44 (0)1895 266267
E: alice.baynes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266267 alice.baynes@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 150
Dr Daniel Bishop Dr Daniel Bishop
Programme Lead, BSc Psychology (Sport, Health & Exercise)
Dan is a Researcher and Senior Lecturer in Sport & Exercise Psychology, and the Head of Employab...
T: +44 (0)1895 267513
E: daniel.bishop@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267513 daniel.bishop@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 203
Dr Richard Blair Dr Richard Blair
Lecturer In Sports Sciences
T: +44 (0)1895 266484
E: richard.blair@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266484 richard.blair@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 271
Professor Alex Blakemore Professor Alex Blakemore
Head of Department
Alex completed her first degree and PhD at the University of Sheffield. After a Postdoctoral Researc...
T: +44 (0)1895 268430
E: alex.blakemore@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268430 alex.blakemore@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 262
Dr David Broadbent Dr David Broadbent
I am a lecturer in Sport & Exercise Psychology and Research Methods. I joined Brunel University ...
E: david.broadbent@brunel.ac.uk
david.broadbent@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff
Dr Concetta Bubici Dr Concetta Bubici
Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 266544
E: concetta.bubici@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266544 concetta.bubici@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 148
Dr Abdul Chaudhary Dr Abdul Chaudhary
Senior Lecturer
Qualifications 2002 – 2004 PGCert Brunel University, London, UK 1987 – 1990 PhD City University, Lo...
T: +44 (0)1895 266112
E: abdul.chaudhary@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266112 abdul.chaudhary@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 129
Dr Survjit Cheeta Dr Survjit Cheeta
Senior Lecturer In Psychology
I joined the Department of Psychology at Brunel University London as a Senior Lecturer after complet...
T: +44 (0)1895 266530
E: survjit.cheeta@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266530 survjit.cheeta@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 268
Dr Bianca De Haan Dr Bianca De Haan
Lecturer
I completed a combined BSc/MSc in Psychology at the State University of Groningen in The Netherlands...
T: +44 (0)1895 265797
E: bianca.dehaan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265797 bianca.dehaan@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 120
Dr Terence Dovey Dr Terence Dovey
Senior Lecturer in Psychology
T: +44 (0)1895 266617
E: terence.dovey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266617 terence.dovey@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 112
Dr Helen Foster Dr Helen Foster
Research Associate
Qualifications: PGCert in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education - Brunel University London PhD ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267855
E: helen.foster@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267855 helen.foster@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 228
Dr Stanley Gaines Dr Stanley Gaines
Senior Lecturer In Psychology, Dissertations Conveyor
I received my PhD in Psychology from the University of Texas at Austin in 1991 with the support of a...
T: +44 (0)1895 265485
E: stanley.gaines@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265485 stanley.gaines@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 108
Dr Misia Gervis Dr Misia Gervis
Programme Development Coordinator
Misia gained a degree in Psychology in London, and then went on to study in America to gain her mast...
T: +44 (0)1895 266472
E: misia.gervis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266472 misia.gervis@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 214
Dr Oliver Gibson Dr Oliver Gibson
Lecturer (Physiology)
Dr Oliver Gibson is a lecturer in Physiology within the department of Sport, Health and Exercise sci...
T: +44 (0)1895 267957
E: oliver.gibson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267957 oliver.gibson@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 210
Dr Vassil Girginov Dr Vassil Girginov
Reader In Sport Sciences
Dr Vassil Girginov is Reader in Sport Management/Development. Previously he has worked as advisor to...
T: +44 (0)1895 266811
E: vassil.girginov@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266811 vassil.girginov@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 213
Dr Richard Godfrey Dr Richard Godfrey
Senior Lecturer (Coaching And Performance)
Richard is a Senior Lecturer in Sports Coaching and Human Performance but is a physiologist by backg...
T: +44 (0)1895 266473
E: richard.godfrey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266473 richard.godfrey@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 215
Dr Amanda Harvey Dr Amanda Harvey
Division Lead (Biosciences)
Qualifications:PhD - Studies into the growth survival and cell death of cancer cell lines, Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 267264
E: amanda.harvey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267264 amanda.harvey@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 130
Dr Laura Hills Dr Laura Hills
Assoc.Dean E&D, SR LECT Sport, Health&Exercise Sci
Laura is the Associate Dean (Equality and Diversity) for the College of Health and Life Sciences. He...
T: +44 (0)1895 267369
E: laura.hills@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267369 laura.hills@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 219
Dr Thomas Hoefken Dr Thomas Hoefken
Lecturer
Qualifications:1998: PhD, University of Marburg and University of Bochum (Germany) 1993: Diplom in...
T: +44 (0)1895 267847
E: thomas.hoefken@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267847 thomas.hoefken@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 111
Ms Sara Horne Ms Sara Horne
Research Fellow (Biomechanics)
Sara is a Research Fellow and Laboratory Manager within the Biomechanics discipline in Sport, Health...
T: +44 (0)1895 266474
E: sara.horne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266474 sara.horne@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 226
Professor Rakesh Kanda Professor Rakesh Kanda
Vice Dean International; Professor in Exposome Science
My research covers a range of topics related to the development and application of analytical techni...
T: +44 (0)1895 267803
E: rakesh.kanda@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267803 rakesh.kanda@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 130
Dr Costas Karageorghis Dr Costas Karageorghis
Deputy Head (Research)
T: +44 (0)1895 266476
E: costas.karageorghis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266476 costas.karageorghis@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 222
Dr Emmanouil Karteris Dr Emmanouil Karteris
Lecturer/Marketing
Dr Manos Karteris graduated with a BSc (Hons) in Medical Biochemistry from the University of Surrey ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265892
E: emmanouil.karteris@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265892 emmanouil.karteris@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 129
Dr Stephen Kershaw Dr Stephen Kershaw
Senior Lecturer
My research is a diverse range of studies that encompass shallow marine, coastal and terrestrial env...
T: +44 (0)1895 266094
E: stephen.kershaw@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266094 stephen.kershaw@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 135
Dr Pascale Kippelen Dr Pascale Kippelen
Senior Lecturer in Exercise and Respiratory Physiology
Pascale holds a Senior Lectureship in Exercise and Respiratory Physiology at Brunel University Londo...
T: +44 (0)1895 267649
E: pascale.kippelen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267649 pascale.kippelen@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 212
Dr Uday Kishore Dr Uday Kishore
Lecturer/Deputy Pg Admissions
I studied biology in the school, did B.Sc. in Zoology and M.Sc. in Cell Biology, and went on to carr...
T: +44 (0)1895 266362
E: uday.kishore@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266362 uday.kishore@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 241
Dr Jacques Launay Dr Jacques Launay
Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 268422
E: jacques.launay@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268422 jacques.launay@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 259
Professor Juliette Legler Professor Juliette Legler
Theme Leader
T: +44 (0)1895 266789
E: juliette.legler@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266789 juliette.legler@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 144
Dr Su-Ling Li Dr Su-Ling Li
Director Of Biosciences/Reader
Qualifications: · 1983 MD, Suzhou Medical University, China. · 1994 Ph.D, De...
T: +44 (0)1895 266288
E: su-ling.li@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266288 su-ling.li@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 126
Dr Nick Linthorne Dr Nick Linthorne
Senior Lecturer (Biomechanics)
Nick Linthorne graduated with a BSc (Hons) in Physics from the University of Queensland and a PhD in...
T: +44 (0)1895 266479
E: nick.linthorne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266479 nick.linthorne@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 204
Dr Evgeny Makarov Dr Evgeny Makarov
Lecturer/Library Representative
Qualifications: PhD, Molecular Biology – Institute of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Kiev, USSR MS...
T: +44 (0)1895 268673
E: evgeny.makarov@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268673 evgeny.makarov@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 107
Dr Louise Mansfield Dr Louise Mansfield
Lecturer Sport Health & Social Sciences Deputy Director Bc.Shaw
Career History Dr. Louise Mansfield's is a Senior Lecturer in Sport, Health and Social Science....
T: +44 (0)1895 267561
E: louise.mansfield@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267561 louise.mansfield@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 210
Dr Luigi Margiotta-Casaluci Dr Luigi Margiotta-Casaluci
Research Fellow
I am a Research Fellow in Toxicology and Group Leader at the Institute of Environment, Health and S...
T: +44 (0)1895 268796
E: luigi.margiotta-casaluci@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268796 luigi.margiotta-casaluci@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 149
Dr Tara Marshall Dr Tara Marshall
Lecturer in Psychology
I received my BA in Psychology from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, in 1998. I then went on...
T: +44 (0)1895 267096
E: tara.marshall@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267096 tara.marshall@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 114
Dr Olwenn Martin Dr Olwenn Martin
Post Doctoral Research Fellow
Qualifications 2009 PhD in Environmental Science - Imperial College London Title: Estrogenic Compou...
T: +44 (0)1895 267208
E: olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267208 olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 132
Dr Amir Mohagheghi Dr Amir Mohagheghi
Lecturer In Biomechanics
Qualifications PhD – Motor Control & Learning – Otago University, New Zealand (1999)MSc – Physio...
T: +44 (0)1895 265876
E: amir.mohagheghi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265876 amir.mohagheghi@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 202
Professor Dany Nobus Professor Dany Nobus
Pro Vice Chancellor (External Affairs)
Having worked as a Research Assistant at Ghent University (Belgium) and a Human Resources Manager in...
T: +44 (0)1895 265944
E: dany.nobus@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265944 dany.nobus@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 207
Dr Marika Noorkoiv Dr Marika Noorkoiv
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Marika is a Research Fellow in the Department of Clinical Sciences. She trained as a Physiotherapist...
T: +44 (0)1895 268479
E: marika.noorkoiv@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268479 marika.noorkoiv@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 226
Dr Justin OBrien Dr Justin OBrien
Lecturer in Psychology
I studied psychology at the University of Exeter, graduating in 1993. I then completed my PhD on the...
T: +44 (0)1895 265475
E: justin.obrien@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265475 justin.obrien@brunel.ac.uk MRJD124 124
Dr Andrew Parton Dr Andrew Parton
Lecturer In Psychology
Having worked for 4-years as a programmer in a clinical chemistry research unit I returned to higher...
T: +44 (0)1895 267326
E: andrew.parton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267326 andrew.parton@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 230
Dr Ansar Pathan Dr Ansar Pathan
Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 267761
E: ansar.pathan@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267761 ansar.pathan@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 236
Dr Mark Pook Dr Mark Pook
Senior Lecturer/Admissions Tutor Ug
Dr Mark Pook graduated with a BSc (Hons) Genetics from the University of Leeds in 1985 and a PhD in ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267243
E: mark.pook@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267243 mark.pook@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 231
Dr Nicholas Pound Dr Nicholas Pound
Senior Lecturer In Psychology
After a BSc in Psychology at the University of Leeds I completed my PhD at McMaster University in Ca...
T: +44 (0)1895 266311
E: nicholas.pound@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266311 nicholas.pound@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 261
Dr Michael Price Dr Michael Price
Senior Lecturer In Psychology
As an undergraduate I was interested in human nature, but puzzled about why this topic rarely came u...
T: +44 (0)1895 266974
E: michael.price@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266974 michael.price@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 206
Dr Daniel Rhind Dr Daniel Rhind
Senior Tutor/Lecturer In Youth Sport
Daniel is a Chartered Psychologist and a Senior Lecturer in Social Psychology. Daniel’s resear...
T: +44 (0)1895 266860
E: daniel.rhind@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266860 daniel.rhind@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 271
Dr Terry Roberts Dr Terry Roberts
Research Associate
T: +44 (0)1895 268436
E: terry.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268436 terry.roberts@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 113B
Dr Lee Romer Dr Lee Romer
Divisonal Lead - Sport, Health & Exercise Sciences
Dr Romer holds a Readership in Human and Applied Physiology.  After completing undergraduate an...
T: +44 (0)1895 266483
E: lee.romer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266483 lee.romer@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 208
Dr Edwin Routledge Dr Edwin Routledge
Senior Lecturer
I am a molecular endocrinologist and aquatic ecotoxicologist with an interest in the effects of endo...
T: +44 (0)1895 266299
E: edwin.routledge@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266299 edwin.routledge@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 148
Dr Tamsin Runnalls Dr Tamsin Runnalls
Post Doctoral Research Fellow/Project Manager
Qualifications 2005: PhD Pharmaceuticals in the Environment: Effects of Clofibric acid on fish. Br...
T: +44 (0)1895 268472
E: tamsin.runnalls@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268472 tamsin.runnalls@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 142
Dr Achim Schuetzwohl Dr Achim Schuetzwohl
Lecturer In Psychology
Not good enough to make it as a professional football player, too short sighted to become a pil...
T: +44 (0)1895 266367
E: achim.schuetzwohl@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266367 achim.schuetzwohl@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 211
Dr Elisabete Silva Dr Elisabete Silva
Senior Lecturer In Human Toxicology
After graduating as a pharmacist in Portugal, I first became aware of endocrine disruption when I jo...
T: +44 (0)1895 265330
E: elisabete.silva@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265330 elisabete.silva@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 125
Dr Predrag Slijepcevic Dr Predrag Slijepcevic
Senior Lecturer & Bicgp/Research Co-Ordinator
Qualifications: PhD in Radiation Biology, University of Sarajevo MSc in Radiation Biology, Universit...
T: +44 (0)1895 266302
E: predrag.slijepcevic@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266302 predrag.slijepcevic@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 108
Dr Janine Spencer Dr Janine Spencer
Lecturer In Psychology, Director Crib
I completed my PhD on infants’ concepts and categorisation as part of an MRC funded award at Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 265474
E: janine.spencer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265474 janine.spencer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 126
Dr Gudrun Stenbeck Dr Gudrun Stenbeck
Lecturer/Work Placement Co-Ordinator
Qualifications: 1993: PhD in Chemical Technology/Biochemistry, Technical University Darmstadt, Germa...
T: +44 (0)1895 265891
E: gudrun.stenbeck@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265891 gudrun.stenbeck@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 233
Professor John Sumpter Professor John Sumpter
Lecturer
I head a research group focussed on chemicals in the aquatic environment, and their effects on fish....
T: +44 (0)1895 266303
E: john.sumpter@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266303 john.sumpter@brunel.ac.uk Halsbury Building 128
Dr Michael Themis Dr Michael Themis
Lecturer/Health & Safety
Dr Themis lectures in the Department of Life Sciences Brunel University London and at Imperial Colle...
T: +44 (0)1895 267252
E: michael.themis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267252 michael.themis@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 235
Dr Anthony Tsolaki Dr Anthony Tsolaki
Lecturer/Ug Admissions Tutor
Qualifications:DPhil, University of Oxford, 1999 MSc, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medici...
T: +44 (0)1895 266077
E: anthony.tsolaki@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266077 anthony.tsolaki@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 234
Dr Paola Vagnarelli Dr Paola Vagnarelli
Senior Lecturer
Qualifications:PhD in Genetics and Molecular Biology, University of Pavia, Italy  Degree in Bio...
T: +44 (0)1895 265025
E: paola.vagnarelli@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265025 paola.vagnarelli@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 106
Dr Barlow Wright Dr Barlow Wright
Senior Lecturer & Departmental Senior Tutor (DLS)
Having completed my degree in Experimental Psychology at University of Oxford in 1995, I was fortuna...
T: +44 (0)1895 267327
E: barlow.wright@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267327 barlow.wright@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 218
Professor Taeko Wydell Professor Taeko Wydell
Divisional Lead - Psychology
Having completed my ESRC funded PhD in 1991 as a mature student, I worked on my research as a&n...
T: +44 (0)1895 265473
E: taeko.wydell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265473 taeko.wydell@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 205