Exit Menu

Undergraduate External Examiners

External Examiners carry out a vital role for the University and provide one of the principal means by which it maintains threshold academic standards. The role is an integral and essential part of institutional quality assurance.

Further information about External Examining can be found in Senate Regulation 4.

For queries concerning the External Examining process please contact external@brunel.ac.uk in the first instance.


Please note that it is not appropriate for you to make direct contact with the External Examiner(s) for your programme (or modular/assessment block).

If you have any queries concerning your individual performance or achievement, or any other issues about your programme of study, you should speak to your tutor or other specified point of contact in your Department to discuss your particular situation.

If you wish to challenge a decision of a Board of Examiners, you should submit an Academic Appeal.

If you are dissatisfied with any aspect of the University's provision, you may wish to submit a Formal Complaint

If you would like to be involved with the quality management process through which the university considers and responds to its External Examiners please contact your College Education Manager in the first instance.

College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences

Aerospace Engineering

Professor Martin Passmore (2015-2019), Loughborough University

Civil Engineering

Professor Gerard Parke (2017-2021), University of Surrey

Computer Science

Dr Stephen Gulliver (2017-2021), University of Reading
Dr Jens Krinke (2015-2019), UCL, University of London


Professor Paul Rodgers (2013-2018), Lancaster University
Professor Peter Ford (2018-2022), De Montfort University

Electronic and Computer Engineering

Mr Jamie Steane (2015-2019), Northumbria University
Professor John David (2017-2020), University of Sheffield
Professor Janis Jefferies (2013-2018), Goldsmiths, University of London
Professor Rebecca Cheung (2017-2021), University of Edinburgh

Flood and Coastal Engineering

Professor Ian Guymer (2017-2021), University of Sheffield


Professor Frank Coolen (2015-2019), Durham University
Professor Stephen Gourley (2016-2020), University of Surrey
Professor Gregory Gutin (2017-2021), Royal Holloway, University of London

Mechanical Engineering

Professor Martin Passmore (2015-2019), Loughborough University
Professor Ali Turan (2015-2019), University of Manchester

College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences






Dr Carol Padgett (2014-2018), University of Reading
Professor Joseph Pearlman (2015-2019), City University London



English & Creative Writing

Dr Natasha Alden (2017-2020), Aberystwyth University
Mr David Savill (2015-2019), St Mary's University, Twickenham, London

Games Design

Dr Alison Gazzard (2016-2020), UCL, University of London


Professor Annika Mombauer (2018), The Open University
Professor Daniel Hough (2015-2019), University of Sussex

International Business

Dr Panagiotis Piperopoulos (2018), University of Liverpool


Dr Ben Cocking (2018), University of Kent


Dr Antje du Bois-Pedain (2016-2021), University of Cambridge
Mr Robert Jago (2016-2020), Royal Holloway, University of London
Dr Jonathan Mukwiri (2016-2021), Durham University
Professor Jonathan Herring (2014-2018), Oxford University
Professor Katherine Reece Thomas (2015-2019), City University London
Dr Florian Wagner-von Papp (2016-2020), UCL, University of London
Professor Rosemary Auchmuty (2017-2021), University of Reading


Dr Pamela Yeow (2015-2019), University of Kent
Dr Manto Gotsi (2017-2021), University of Westminster
Dr Nicholas Tsitsianis (2016-2020), Queen Mary, University of London

Military and International History

Professor John Keiger (2017-2021), University of Cambridge




Professor Daniel Hough (2015-2019), University of Sussex
Dr Andy Mycock (2014-2018) University of Huddersfield

Screen Media

Dr Mark Readman (2015-2019), Bournemouth University




Dr Bryce Lease (2015-2019), Royal Holloway, University of London
Mr David Savill (2015-2019), St Mary's University, Twickenham, London
Dr Aoife Monks (2016-2020), Queen Mary University of London

College of Health and Life Sciences

Biomedical Sciences

Dr Stephane Gross (2018-2022), Aston University


Dr Michael John Fry (2014-2018), University of Reading
Dr Anabel Varela-Carver (2015-2019), Imperial College, University of London

Community Health & Public Health

Ms Judith Murphy (2017-2021), University of Central Lancashire (UCLan)

Environmental Sciences

Dr Eduarda Santos (2017-2021), University of Exeter

Occupational Therapy

Ms Liz Cade (2014-2018), Glyndwr University
Mrs Michaela Higginson (2016-2020), University of Liverpool
Dr Alan Massey (2017-2021), University of Chester                    


Dr Harriet Shannon (2016-2020), UCL, University of London


Dr Christopher Barnes (2016-2020), University of Derby
Dr Erica Lucas (2016-2020), Staffordshire University
Dr Chris Wagstaff (2017-2021), University of Portsmouth
Dr Nicolas Geeraert (2018-2018), University of Essex

Social Work

Professor Nick Frost (2013-2018), Leeds Beckett University 
Dr Jo Haynes (2014-2018), University of Bristol

Sport Science

Professor Colin Boreham (2014-2018), University College Dublin 
Dr Marc Keech (2015-2019), University of Brighton
Dr Joe Causer (2016-2020), Liverpool John Moores University

Brunel Language Centre


The above lists of External Examiners are updated on a regular basis.