Skip to Content
Exit Menu

Research Interests

Eujin’s area of Research centres on Additive Manufacturing, 4D Printing and Functionally Graded Materials. He is the 4D Printing Research Group Leader. Upon completion of his PhD, he worked with Professor RI Campbell as a Postdoctoral Researcher to investigate aspects of Material Extrusion for Additive Manufacturing. Subsequently, he worked in South Africa under the supervision of Professor Deon de Beer to develop novel Test Artefacts for Additive Manufacturing. He also collaborated with Professor Mario Monzon to further develop his expertise in 4D Printing. He is also interested in aspects of Reverse Engineering, Topology Optimisation and Augmented Reality. Within the Department, Eujin is an active Member of the Design for Sustainable Manufacturing (DSM) theme and co-organises Research seminars.

He is Chair of the British Standards Institute AMT/8 Committee for Additive Manufacturing; and UK Head of Delegate for ISO/TC261. He is Convenor of the International Organisation for Standardisation ISO/TC261/WG4 that develops global Standards for Additive Manufacturing Data and Design; and Convenor of ISO/TC261/JG67 for Functionally Graded Additive Manufacturing. As a means to disseminate new knowledge, Eujin publishes in international peer-reviewed journals, conference papers, periodicals and books. In 2019, he published a book titled "Additive Manufacturing - Developments in Training and Education - Best Practices, Challenges and Opportunities” (ISBN: 978-3-319-76083-4) by Springer Nature; and contributed to a book chapter for "Additive Manufacturing: Applications and Innovations" by Taylor & Francis in 2018.

External sources of funding for Eujin's academic research have been received from the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC); the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC); the Royal Academy of Engineering (RAE); Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE); the British Council; and from the European Commission. He was a Co-Investigator for the European Commission's H2020 Erasmus+ Capacity-building in the Field of Higher Education programme for “LeNSin - International Learning Network on Sustainability” which was completed in 2019. In 2018, he received funding as Work Package Leader for the European Commission's H2020 WIDESPREAD-05-2017 programme for "Increasing Excellence on Advanced Additive Manufacturing” (INEX-ADAM). In 2019, he also received funding as Work Package Leader for the European Commission's H2020 Erasmus+ Sector Skills Alliances programme for “Strategy in Additive Manufacturing” (SAM). In the same year, he received a grant from the EPSRC Impact Acceleration Account (IAA) Engagement award. In 2020, he received a grant from the British Council Newton Institutional Links fund for “Direct Writing of Cementitious Inks to Scaffolds with Complex Microarchitectures (DIWoCIS)” as a Co-Investigator, as well as two additional grants from the Global Challenges Research Fund, Demonstrate Impact Programme. Eujin is also involved in the department's Co-Innovate programme which is an innovation support scheme for London-based SMEs and start-ups to help entrepreneurs achieve business growth through collaboration with the university's academics, supported by the European Regional Development Fund.

Current Funded Research Projects (2020)

  • European Union Erasmus+ Sector Skills Alliances Programme (until 2023)
  • British Council Newton Institutional Links Programme (until 2022)
  • European Union Horizon 2020 H2020-WIDESPREAD-05-2017-Twinning Programme (until 2021)
  • InnovateUK, Designing Sustainable Plastic Solutions Fund - AgriFlex (until 2021)
  • InnovateUK, Sustainable Innovation Fund Round 3 - MediFlex (until 2021)
  • UKRI Global Challenges Research Fund, Demonstrate Impact Programme - AquaSense (until 2021)
  • UKRI Global Challenges Research Fund, Demonstrate Impact Programme - BioSan (until 2021)
  • Innovation Grant with Harrow Council (until 2021)
  • EPSRC Impact Acceleration Grant (until 2020)

Opportunities for PhD Study

Enquiries are very welcome from those who are keen to pursue PhD and MSc degrees regarding Additive Manufacturing and Design. Joint supervision, industry partnerships and collaborative research opportunities are all very welcomed.

PhD Research Supervision

  • Harry Sutcliffe: Developing a Design for 4D Printing (Df4DP) Framework
  • Faten Ezrin Azhar: Improving Communication between Product Designers and Manufacturing Engineers when Designing 4D Printed Parts
  • Seok Woo Nam: Programming 4D Printed Parts using Shape-Memory Polymers and Computer-Aided-Design
  • Giselle Loh: Achieving Smart Textiles through Functionally Graded Additive Manufacturing
  • James Burchill: Improving Dissemination of Radical Innovations in Material Science
  • Edvard Schroeder: Developing Passive Flow Control Techniques for Quiet Wind Turbine Blades using Additive Manufacturing
  • Peter Booth: 4D printing of Intelligent Bio-Materials with Self-sustaining Structure
  • Alex Marler: Exploring the use of Fused Deposition Modelling for 4D Printing
  • Mazin Al-Wswasi: Algorithmn-based Computer Aided Design for Digital Manufacturing (as Research Development Advisor)
  • Aine Petrulaityte: Investigating Product-Service Systems and Distributed Manufacturing (completed 2019)
  • Lulu Yin: Understanding the relationship between the environment and walking behaviour (completed 2019)
  • Milad Areir: A Study of 3D Printed Active Carbon Electrode for the Manufacture of Electric Double-Layer Capacitors (completed 2018)
  • Thomas Stead: Understanding the Product Development Process for Self-Use Medical Devices (completed 2017)
  • Jerry Tagang: Designing a framwork for footware solutions for diabetic patients (completed 2014)

Postdoctoral Research Associates & Visiting Academics

  • Dr Adeayo Sotayo: European Commission funded programme (2020)
  • Ms Daniela Ribeiro: FAPESP funded programme (2019)
  • Dr Israt Kabir: European Commission funded programme (2019)
  • Dr Malte Ressin: EPSRC funded programme (2017)

Overseas Postgraduate Supervision

  • Muhammad Kazimi bin Muhamad: Universiti Teknikal Melaka, Malaysia
  • Nsengimana Joseph: Central University of Technology, South Africa