Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Arts and Humanities
English and Creative Writing

Browse Subjects

Name Telephone Email Office
Mr Neil Arksey Mr Neil Arksey
Lecturer (Education Academic) in Creative Writing (publishing industry specialist)
Neil has written anumber of novels for Middle Grade and Young Adult readers, mostly published by Pen...
T: +44 (0)1895 266657
E: neil.arksey@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266657 neil.arksey@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 140
Dr Jessica Cox Dr Jessica Cox
Divisional Lead/Senior Lecturer in English Literature
Jessica obtained her PhD from Swansea University in 2007 and worked as a lecturer at the University ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266402
E: jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266402 jessica.cox@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 126
Professor Bernardine Evaristo Professor Bernardine Evaristo
Professor - Creative Writing
Professor Bernardine Evaristo was joint winner of the Booker Prize 2019, the world's most prestigiou...
T: +44 (0)1895 267240
E: bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267240 bernardine.evaristo@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 132
Dr Emma Filtness Dr Emma Filtness
Lecturer (Education) in Creative Writing
Dr Emma Filtness is Lecturer in Creative Writing (Academic Education). She is primarily a poet, but ...
T: +44 (0)1895 268547
E: emma.filtness@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268547 emma.filtness@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 140
Dr Kate Houlden Dr Kate Houlden
Lecturer in English Literature
Kate obtained her AHRC-funded PhD from Queen Mary, University of London in 2010. She has previously ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266239
E: kate.houlden@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266239 kate.houlden@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell 141
Dr Nick Hubble Dr Nick Hubble
Professor
I am Professor of Modern and Contemporary English, Co-Director of the Brunel Centre for Contemporary...
T: +44 (0)1895 266245
E: nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266245 nick.hubble@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 123
Dr Max Kinnings Dr Max Kinnings
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Max is the author of four novels, HITMAN (2000), THE FIXER (2001), both published by Hodder & St...
T: +44 (0)1895 267769
E: max.kinnings@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267769 max.kinnings@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 128
Mr Frazer Lee Mr Frazer Lee
Creative Writing Senior Lecturer
Frazer Lee is a novelist, screenwriter and director. His screen credits include the award-winning sh...
T: +44 (0)1895 266578
E: frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266578 frazer.lee@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 130
Dr Hannah Lowe Dr Hannah Lowe
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Dr Hannah Lowe is a Lecturer in Creative Writing. She is a poet and memoirist, whose work lies betwe...
T: +44 (0)1895 267967
E: hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267967 hannah.lowe@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 127
Dr Claire Lynch Dr Claire Lynch
Reader
Claire Lynch is a Reader in English and Irish Literature at Brunel University London. A graduate of ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266475
E: claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266475 claire.lynch@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 134
Dr Jago Morrison Dr Jago Morrison
Reader - English
Jago Morrison is a specialist in contemporary literature. His key areas of expertise are:Contempor...
T: +44 (0)1895 265827
E: jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265827 jago.morrison@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 129
Mr Daljit Nagra Mr Daljit Nagra
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
T: +44 (0)1895 268711
E: daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268711 daljit.nagra@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 135
Dr Katrina O'Loughlin Dr Katrina O'Loughlin
Lecturer in English
T: +44 (0)1895 265809
E: katrina.o'loughlin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265809 katrina.o'loughlin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 143
Ms Sarah Penny Ms Sarah Penny
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Sarah Penny emigrated to the UK from South Africa in 2003 to lecture in Creative Writing at Brunel U...
T: +44 (0)1895 266581
E: sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266581 sarah.penny@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 131
Professor Will Self Professor Will Self
Professor - Modern Thought
Will Self is the author of nine novels, six collections of short stories, three novellas and six non...
T: +44 (0)1895 265913
E: will.self@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265913 will.self@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 139
Dr Iman Sheeha Dr Iman Sheeha
Lecturer in Shakespeare and Early Modern Literature
I joined Brunel English in 2018 as Lecturer in English (Shakespeare and Early Modern Literature). My...
T: +44 (0)1895 267233
E: iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267233 iman.sheeha@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 141
Professor William Spurlin Professor William Spurlin
Vice Dean Research / Professor - English
William J Spurlin is Professor of English and Vice-Dean/Education in the College of Business, Arts &...
T: +44 (0)1895 266234
E: william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266234 william.spurlin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 142
Professor Philip Tew Professor Philip Tew
Professor - English
Philip Tew is Professor of English (Post-1900 Literature) at Brunel, and the Convenor of the MA in E...
T: +44 (0)1895 267257
E: philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267257 philip.tew@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 138
Mr Matt Thorne Mr Matt Thorne
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing
Matt Thorne is the author of six novels, including Eight Minutes Idle, which won an Encore Award for...
T: +44 (0)1895 265839
E: matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265839 matt.thorne@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 133
Professor William Watkin Professor William Watkin
Professor - English
William Watkin is Professor of Contemporary Philosophy and Literature. He has been at Brunel Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 266560
E: william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266560 william.watkin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 119
Professor Benjamin Zephaniah Professor Benjamin Zephaniah
Professor - Creative Writing
Professor Benjamin Zephaniah was one of the pioneers of the performance poetry ‘scene’ i...
Gaskell Building 137