Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Business, Arts and Social Sciences
Social and Political Sciences
Social Science and Communications

Browse Subjects

Name Telephone Email Office
Professor Nicola Ansell Professor Nicola Ansell
Professor - Human Geography
Since I arrived at Brunel in 1999, my interests have focused on social and cultural change in the li...
T: +44 (0)1895 266085
E: nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266085 nicola.ansell@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 133
Dr Andrew Beatty Dr Andrew Beatty
Senior Lecturer In Anthropology
I became interested in anthropology after spending a couple of years travelling in Asia; conducted s...
T: +44 (0)1895 265943
E: andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265943 andrew.beatty@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 141
Mr Steven Cohen Mr Steven Cohen
Senior Lecturer (Education) in Journalism
Steve is a former award-winning regional newspaper editor who later set up his own successful public...
T: +44 (0)1895 268384
E: steven.cohen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268384 steven.cohen@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 174
Dr Sara De Benedictis Dr Sara De Benedictis
Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications
Sara joined Brunel in May 2017. She is currently a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Communications i...
T: +44 (0)1895 265662
E: sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265662 sara.debenedictis@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 148
Dr Monica Degen Dr Monica Degen
College Creative Industries Lead / Reader
I joined Brunel University in 2004 after having worked as a Research Fellow in the Human Geography d...
T: +44 (0)1895 265940
E: monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265940 monica.degen@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 149
Dr Peggy Froerer Dr Peggy Froerer
Reader - Anthropology
I found my way into anthropology after an initial foray into politics, completing my PhD at the Lond...
T: +44 (0)1895 265456
E: peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265456 peggy.froerer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 143
Dr Lesley Henderson Dr Lesley Henderson
Reader - Sociology and Communications
Lesley Henderson is a social scientist with specific expertise in Communications and Social Change. ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265459
E: lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265459 lesley.henderson@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 144
Dr Luke Heslop Dr Luke Heslop
Lecturer in Anthropology and Global Challenges
I trained in anthropology at the University of Edinburgh (PhD 2015) and was a Fellow at the London S...
T: +44 (0)1895 266252
E: luke.heslop@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266252 luke.heslop@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Eleanor Tiplady Higgs Dr Eleanor Tiplady Higgs
Lecturer in Sociology
I am an interdisciplinary feminist scholar in the humanities. After completing my PhD in Gender Stud...
E: eleanor.higgs@brunel.ac.uk
eleanor.higgs@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 156
Professor Eric Hirsch Professor Eric Hirsch
Divisional Lead / Deputy Head of Department / Professor - Anthropology
I initially trained as an engineer but later found that anthropology was what really interested me. ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265953
E: eric.hirsch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265953 eric.hirsch@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 134
Dr Anita Howarth Dr Anita Howarth
Senior Lecturer in Journalism
Anita Howarth specializes in the interaction between journalism/media, politics and risk. She has a ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267047
E: anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267047 anita.howarth@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 176
Dr Victor Jatula Dr Victor Jatula
Lecturer in Communications and Journalism
My research is located in the general field of press, politics and development. I focus on journalis...
T: +44 (0)1895 267722
E: victor.jatula@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267722 victor.jatula@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell 176
Dr Maria Kastrinou Dr Maria Kastrinou
Lecturer in Anthropology
Anchored in political anthropology, my research focuses on sectarian politics and national belonging...
T: +44 (0)1895 265059
E: maria.kastrinou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265059 maria.kastrinou@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 136
Dr Sharon Lockyer Dr Sharon Lockyer
Interim Associate Dean (Equality & Diversity) / Reader - Sociology & Communications
Sharon Lockyer in a Reader in Sociology and Communications with an international research track-reco...
T: +44 (0)1895 267373
E: sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267373 sharon.lockyer@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 146
Professor Sarita Malik Professor Sarita Malik
Professor - Media, Culture and Communications
Sarita's research examines inequality and culture (representation, production and participation) in ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266874
E: sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266874 sarita.malik@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 153
Dr Olwenn Martin Dr Olwenn Martin
Lecturer in Global Challenges
Building on an academic interdisciplinary background in Natural Sciences and Social Sciences, I hav...
T: +44 (0)1895 268670
E: olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268670 olwenn.martin@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 029
Mr Beowulf Mayfield Mr Beowulf Mayfield
Lecturer (Professional Practice) in Journalism
Beowulf "Wulfie" Mayfield worked as a local newspaper journalist in the Midlands and London for more...
E: beowulf.mayfield@brunel.ac.uk
beowulf.mayfield@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Paul Moody Dr Paul Moody
Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications
Paul is a Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications, with research interests in British cinem...
T: +44 (0)1895 267804
E: paul.moody@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267804 paul.moody@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 158
Dr Isak Niehaus Dr Isak Niehaus
Senior Lecturer
After attending school in Oudtshoorn (a semi-desert town which is the centre of South Africa’s ostri...
T: +44 (0)1895 267413
E: isak.niehaus@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267413 isak.niehaus@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 139
Dr Billur Ozgul Dr Billur Ozgul
Lecturer in Political Communications
I joined the School of Social and Political Sciences as a Lecturer in Political Communications in Au...
T: +44 (0)1895 267943
E: billur.ozgul@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267943 billur.ozgul@brunel.ac.uk Marie Johoda 154a
Dr Magali Peyrefitte Dr Magali Peyrefitte
Senior Lecturer in Criminology and Deviance
I completed a PhD in Sociology (ESRC 1+3) from the University of Nottingham in 2011. After having wo...
T: +44 (0)1895 265795
E: magali.peyrefitte@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265795 magali.peyrefitte@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 150
Dr Hauke Riesch Dr Hauke Riesch
Deputy Head of Department / Divisional Lead / Senior Lecturer in Sociology
I am a sociologist of science with a particular interest in science communication, risk and environm...
T: +44 (0)1895 266854
E: hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266854 hauke.riesch@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 142
Dr John Roberts Dr John Roberts
Professor - Sociology and Communications
I completed my PhD at Cardiff University in 2000 on urban space and free speech. I’ve studied ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266377
E: john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266377 john.roberts@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 155
Dr Will Rollason Dr Will Rollason
Senior Lecturer in Anthropology
Will received his PhD from the University of Manchester in 2008. His thesis was based on eighteen mo...
T: +44 (0)1895 265041
E: william.rollason@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265041 william.rollason@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 135
Mrs Rachel Sharp Mrs Rachel Sharp
Senior Lecturer (Education) in Journalism
Rachel Sharp is a senior lecturer in Journalism here at Brunel. She is an experienced newspaper edit...
T: +44 (0)1895 267108
E: rachel.sharp@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267108 rachel.sharp@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 177
Dr James Staples Dr James Staples
Reader - Anthropology
After completing a first degree in anthropology in 1990 I worked for nearly ten years as a journalis...
T: +44 (0)1895 267412
E: james.staples@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267412 james.staples@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 137
Mr Kenn Toft Mr Kenn Toft
Lecturer (Education) in Shorthand
Kenn Toft started his career at Brunel University as an industry expert in data gathering and media ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267584
E: kenn.toft@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267584 kenn.toft@brunel.ac.uk Gaskell Building 177a
Dr Anna Tuckett Dr Anna Tuckett
Lecturer in Anthropology
Dr. Anna Tuckett received her PhD from the London School of Economics in 2014. She specialises in p...
T: +44 (0)1895 266195
E: anna.tuckett@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266195 anna.tuckett@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 154a
Dr Simon Weaver Dr Simon Weaver
Senior Lecturer
Simon is a Senior Lecturer in Media and Communications at Brunel University London. He started ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265029
E: simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265029 simon.weaver@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 145
Dr Peter Wilkin Dr Peter Wilkin
Reader - Comms, Media & Cultural Studies
I studied at Southampton University (1987-2004) before taking up my first post at Lancaster Universi...
T: +44 (0)1895 267241
E: peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267241 peter.wilkin@brunel.ac.uk Marie Jahoda 154