Skip to Content
Exit Menu

People in College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Name Telephone Email Office
Dr Mayo Adetoro Dr Mayo Adetoro
Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 266283
E: mayo.adetoro@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266283 mayo.adetoro@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 127
Dr Giulio Alfano Dr Giulio Alfano
Reader - Mechanical Engineering
Academic CareerReader in Computational Mechanics, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil En...
T: +44 (0)1895 267062
E: giulio.alfano@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267062 giulio.alfano@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 108
Mr Asif Ali Mr Asif Ali
PhD Student
Asif Ali is a doctoral researcher in Computational Mechanics at Brunel University, London. Asif...
E: asif.ali@brunel.ac.uk
asif.ali@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Umar Amin Mr Umar Amin
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 268962
E: umar.amin@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268962 umar.amin@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101a
Professor Mark Atherton Professor Mark Atherton
Professor
  Mark is Professor of Design Engineering in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospa...
T: +44 (0)1895 266690
E: mark.atherton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266690 mark.atherton@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 113
Dr Colin Axon Dr Colin Axon
Senior Lecturer
I am Senior Lecturer in the Institute of Energy Futures and my research is about the use of energy i...
T: +44 (0)1895 267932
E: colin.axon@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267932 colin.axon@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 121
Mr Venelin Baldzhiev Mr Venelin Baldzhiev
Research Assistant
E: venelin.baldzhiev@brunel.ac.uk
venelin.baldzhiev@brunel.ac.uk
Ms Priyanka Bharti Ms Priyanka Bharti
PhD Student
E: priyanka.bharti@brunel.ac.uk
priyanka.bharti@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Qing Cai Mr Qing Cai
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 268963
E: qing.cai@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268963 qing.cai@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101a
Dr James Campbell Dr James Campbell
Reader - Structural Integrity
Dr James Campbell is Reader in Structural Integrity at the National Structural Integrity Research Ce...
T: +44 (0)1223899000
E: james.campbell@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223899000 james.campbell@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Ms Femke Cappon Ms Femke Cappon
PhD Student
ResearchFemke is a doctoral researcher working on the development of a mock circulation of the car...
E: femke.cappon@brunel.ac.uk
femke.cappon@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Rui Cardoso Dr Rui Cardoso
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 268427
E: rui.cardoso@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268427 rui.cardoso@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 125
Dr Lei Chai Dr Lei Chai
Research Fellow
Lei Chai has successfully completed his PhD at Beijing University of Technology in 2012 and then wor...
T: +44 (0)1895 265834
E: lei.chai@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265834 lei.chai@brunel.ac.uk Elliott Jaques 087
Professor Kai Cheng Professor Kai Cheng
Head of AMEE / Professor
EDUCATION AND DEGREES BEng (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering, 1st Class, Harbin Institute of Technol...
T: +44 (0)1895 267255
E: kai.cheng@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267255 kai.cheng@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 208
Mrs Kirsty Chishti Mrs Kirsty Chishti
Projects Administrator and External Communicator
E: kirsty.chishti@brunel.ac.uk
kirsty.chishti@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Tze Pei Chong Dr Tze Pei Chong
Reader/Industrial Placement Tutor
T: +44 (0)1895 266370
E: t.p.chong@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266370 t.p.chong@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 117
Professor Colin Clark Professor Colin Clark
Academic Visitor - MAE
E: colin.clark@brunel.ac.uk
colin.clark@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Sean Cullen Mr Sean Cullen
PhD Student
E: sean.cullen2@brunel.ac.uk
sean.cullen2@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Luana De Abreu Queirós Osório Miss Luana De Abreu Queirós Osório
PhD Student
Doctoral Researcher at Brunel University London working on the validation of a 3D microfluidic tool ...
E: luana.deabreuqueirososorio2@brunel.ac.uk
luana.deabreuqueirososorio2@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca De Coster Dr Rebecca De Coster
Lecturer in Innovation
Rebecca De Coster is a Lecturer in Innovation in the AMEE group and is Course Director for the new M...
T: +44 (0)1895 265784
E: rebecca.decoster@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265784 rebecca.decoster@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 207
Dr Zahir Dehouche Dr Zahir Dehouche
Senior Lecturer
T: +44 (0)1895 267559
E: zahir.dehouche@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267559 zahir.dehouche@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 128
Dr Nenad Djordjevic Dr Nenad Djordjevic
Senior Lecturer in Structural Integrity
Dr Nenad Djordjevic joined the Applied Mechanics and Astronautics Department at Cranfield University...
T: +44 (0)1223940106
E: nenad.djordjevic@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223940106 nenad.djordjevic@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Mr Luke Doran Mr Luke Doran
PhD Student
E: luke.doran@brunel.ac.uk
luke.doran@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Xinli Du Dr Xinli Du
Senior Lecturer in Robotics & Autonomous Systems
Dr Xinli Du joined Brunel Institute for Bioengineering as a Research Lecturer in August 2010. Xinli&...
T: +44 (0)1895 265848
E: xinli.du@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265848 xinli.du@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 310
Professor Ibrahim Esat Professor Ibrahim Esat
Professor
T: +44 (0)1895 266681
E: ibrahim.esat@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266681 ibrahim.esat@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 129
Mr Antonio Esposito Mr Antonio Esposito
PhD Student
PhD Title - Development of new Ignition and Combustion Technologies for Internal Combustion (IC) Eng...
E: antonio.esposito@brunel.ac.uk
antonio.esposito@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Ehab Foda Dr Ehab Foda
Research Fellow
Dr Ehab Foda is a postdoctoral researcher in the built environment field with nearly 10years of rese...
T: +44 (0)1895 265320
E: ehab.foda@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265320 ehab.foda@brunel.ac.uk Elliott Jaques 087
Professor Lionel Ganippa Professor Lionel Ganippa
Professor
Academic and Professional Qualifications PhD - Internal Combustion Engines – Chalmers University of...
T: +44 (0)1895 266721
E: lionel.ganippa@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266721 lionel.ganippa@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 103A
Dr Alvin Gatto Dr Alvin Gatto
Senior Lecturer/UG Course Director
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace 2015-present Teaching Qualifications: Postgraduate Certificate in Learn...
T: +44 (0)1895 267434
E: alvin.gatto@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267434 alvin.gatto@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 130
Dr Marius Gintalas Dr Marius Gintalas
Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering
Dr Marius Gintalas obtained his doctoral degree in Mechanical Engineering studying fracture toughnes...
E: marius.gintalas@brunel.ac.uk
marius.gintalas@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Alessandro Giudici Dr Alessandro Giudici
PhD Student
E: alessandro.giudici@brunel.ac.uk
alessandro.giudici@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Ning Gou Mr Ning Gou
PhD Student
E: ning.gou@brunel.ac.uk
ning.gou@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Susan Grant Dr Susan Grant
Senior Lecturer
Susan‘s research interests lie in the area of lean and agile supply chains across manufacturing and ...
T: +44 (0)1895 265384
E: susan.grant@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265384 susan.grant@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 206
Mrs Petra Gratton Mrs Petra Gratton
Lecturer
Academic ResponsibilitiesAdmissions Tutor for all undergraduate courses in the Mechanical Engin...
T: +44 (0)1895 266684
E: petra.gratton@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266684 petra.gratton@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 115
Dr Kevin Hughes Dr Kevin Hughes
Senior Lecturer in Structural Integrity
Dr Kevin Hughes graduated from Cranfield University where he obtained an MSc in Astronautics and Spa...
T: +44 (0)1223940107
E: kevin.hughes@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1223940107 kevin.hughes@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Atanas Ivanov Dr Atanas Ivanov
Reader - Advanced Engineering Design
T: +44 (0)1895 265220
E: atanas.ivanov@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265220 atanas.ivanov@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 204
Mr Gerard Jansen Mr Gerard Jansen
PhD Student
E: gerard.jansen@brunel.ac.uk
gerard.jansen@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Hussam Jouhara Professor Hussam Jouhara
Professor/Department Director for Research
Having worked in academia and the industry, Hussam has unique expertise in working on applied heat e...
T: +44 (0)1895 267805
E: hussam.jouhara@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267805 hussam.jouhara@brunel.ac.uk Elliott Jaques Building 087f
Professor Tassos Karayiannis Professor Tassos Karayiannis
Professor
EDUCATIONPhD 1986, Engineering Science, Natural Convection in rectangular Cavities, The Univers...
T: +44 (0)1895 267132
E: tassos.karayiannis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267132 tassos.karayiannis@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 255
Mr Mahfuz Karim Mr Mahfuz Karim
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 267620
E: mahfuz.karim@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267620 mahfuz.karim@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner 101
Miss Kyriaki Katikaridou Miss Kyriaki Katikaridou
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 266182
E: kyriaki.katikaridou@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266182 kyriaki.katikaridou@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner 101A
Mr Shishir Keerti Mr Shishir Keerti
PhD Student
Shishir is doctoral researcher in Brunel centre of Advanced Solidification Technology (BCAST) and is...
T: +44 (0)1895 267616
E: shishir.keerti@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267616 shishir.keerti@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner 101
Professor Ashraf Khir Professor Ashraf Khir
Professor - Cardiovascular Mechanics
T: +44 (0)1895 265857
E: ashraf.khir@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265857 ashraf.khir@brunel.ac.uk Heinz Wolff 001
Mr Navid Khordehgah Mr Navid Khordehgah
PhD Student
E: navid.khordehgah@brunel.ac.uk
navid.khordehgah@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Carola Koenig Dr Carola Koenig
Associate Dean (International) / Senior Lecturer
Carola König is a Senior Lecturer in the College of Engineering, Design and Physical Sciences a...
T: +44 (0)1895 266915
E: carola.koenig@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266915 carola.koenig@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 134
Mrs Bridget Kogo Mrs Bridget Kogo
PhD Student
E: bridget.kogo@brunel.ac.uk
bridget.kogo@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Maria Kolokotroni Professor Maria Kolokotroni
Associate Dean E&D / Professor
Academic Career I studied for an MSc in Environmental Design and Engineering at the Bartlett School,...
T: +44 (0)1895 266688
E: maria.kolokotroni@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266688 maria.kolokotroni@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 122
Mr Iasonas Kotsampasis Mr Iasonas Kotsampasis
PhD Student
E: iasonas.kotsampasis@brunel.ac.uk
iasonas.kotsampasis@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Harendra Kumar Mr Harendra Kumar
PhD Student
E: harendra.kumar@brunel.ac.uk
harendra.kumar@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Alexander Lauterkorn Mr Alexander Lauterkorn
PhD Student
Alexander Lauterkorn was born 1994 in Regensburg, Germany. He graduated as a Bachelor of Engineering...
E: alexander.lauterkorn2@brunel.ac.uk
alexander.lauterkorn2@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Dandan Liu Miss Dandan Liu
PhD Student
E: dandan.liu@brunel.ac.uk
dandan.liu@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Quan Long Dr Quan Long
Senior Lecturer in Fluid Mechanics
T: +44 (0)1895 266689
E: quan.long@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266689 quan.long@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 101a
Miss Beatriz Lopez Miss Beatriz Lopez
Department Administrator
T: +44 (0)1895 267120
E: beatriz.lopez@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267120 beatriz.lopez@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 106
Dr Ruth Mackay Dr Ruth Mackay
Lecturer
I am a Mechanical Engineer with a particular interest within the biomedical field.  I gained my...
T: +44 (0)1895 267378
E: ruth.mackay@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267378 ruth.mackay@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 132
Mr Sergio Malo Mr Sergio Malo
PhD Student
E: sergio.malo@brunel.ac.uk
sergio.malo@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Cristinel Mares Dr Cristinel Mares
Reader
T: +44 (0)1895 266718
E: cristinel.mares@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266718 cristinel.mares@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 111
Professor Thanos Megaritis Professor Thanos Megaritis
Professor
Academic Career2011 to date. Professor in Internal Combustion Engines, Brunel University Lond...
T: +44 (0)1895 266682
E: thanos.megaritis@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266682 thanos.megaritis@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 120
Mrs Karen Moseley Mrs Karen Moseley
Department Administrative Assistant
I am working within the Mechanical, Automotive and Aerospace (MAE) Engineering Department Administra...
T: +44 (0)1895 265227
E: karen.moseley@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265227 karen.moseley@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 104
Mr Mohammad Nakawi Mr Mohammad Nakawi
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 268937
E: mohammad.nakawi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268937 mohammad.nakawi@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101
Miss Angel Naveenathayalan Miss Angel Naveenathayalan
PhD Student
E: angel.naveenathayalan2@brunel.ac.uk
angel.naveenathayalan2@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Christopher Nichols Mr Christopher Nichols
PhD Student
E: christopher.nichols@brunel.ac.uk
christopher.nichols@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Yohan Noh Dr Yohan Noh
Lecturer in Manufacturing Engineering
He received his first B.Sc. degreefrom the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Seoul National Univ...
T: +44 (0)1895 267504
E: yohan.noh@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267504 yohan.noh@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 124
Mr André Oliveira Mr André Oliveira
PhD Student
E: andre.oliveira@brunel.ac.uk
andre.oliveira@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Dalia Osman Miss Dalia Osman
PhD Student
E: dalia.osman@brunel.ac.uk
dalia.osman@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Anurag Pramanik Dr Anurag Pramanik
Research Fellow
E: anurag.pramanik@brunel.ac.uk
anurag.pramanik@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Yi Qiu Miss Yi Qiu
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 267400
E: yi.qiu@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267400 yi.qiu@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101
Miss Aleksandra Rejniak Miss Aleksandra Rejniak
PhD Student
E: aleksandra.rejniak@brunel.ac.uk
aleksandra.rejniak@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Alan Reynolds Dr Alan Reynolds
Honorary Reader - ETC
Dr Alan Reynolds joined ETCbrunel in 1979, after working in the medical and healthcare industries. I...
T: +44 (0)1895 265926
E: alan.reynolds@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265926 alan.reynolds@brunel.ac.uk Bragg Building 015
Miss Irene Ruiz Rodriguez Miss Irene Ruiz Rodriguez
PhD Student
E: irene.ruizrodriguez@brunel.ac.uk
irene.ruizrodriguez@brunel.ac.uk
Mr Burak Sakarya Mr Burak Sakarya
PhD Student
PhD Resarch Fellow NSIRC/Brunel University London MSc Structural Integrity BSc Mechanical Engineerin...
E: burak.sakarya@brunel.ac.uk
burak.sakarya@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Agnese Salvati Dr Agnese Salvati
Research Fellow
I am an Architectural Engineer specialised in climate and urban building energy modelling. In 2016, ...
E: agnese.salvati@brunel.ac.uk
agnese.salvati@brunel.ac.uk Elliott Jaques 087
Mr Kilian Schneider Mr Kilian Schneider
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 268526
E: kilian.schneider@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268526 kilian.schneider@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101
Dr Harjit Singh Dr Harjit Singh
Senior Lecturer
Dr Singh received his BEng, and MEng (IIT Roorkee, India) with specialisation in Mechanical and Ther...
T: +44 (0)1895 265468
E: harjit.singh@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265468 harjit.singh@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 131
Dr Edward Smith Dr Edward Smith
Lecturer in Fluid Dynamics
Edward Smith (www.edwardsmith.co.uk) is a researcher working on multi-scale methods combining partic...
T: +44 (0)1895 266480
E: edward.smith@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266480 edward.smith@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 105
Dr Valentina Stojceska Dr Valentina Stojceska
Reader
PhD in Food Engineering – School of Biosystems Engineering, University College Dublin Postgraduate C...
T: +44 (0)1895 267328
E: valentina.stojceska@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267328 valentina.stojceska@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 116
Professor Tadeusz Stolarski Professor Tadeusz Stolarski
Research Professor
Academic Career 1970 - MSc, Technical University of Gdansk, Poland 1975 - PhD, Technical University...
T: +44 (0)1895 267951
E: tadeusz.stolarski@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267951 tadeusz.stolarski@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 102
Dr Gera Troisi Dr Gera Troisi
Senior Lecturer
Dr Gera M. Troisi is a lecturer in the School of Engineering and Design at Brunel University London ...
T: +44 (0)1895 266958
E: gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266958 gera.troisi@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 126
Dr James Tyacke Dr James Tyacke
Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering (Aerodynamics)
I am currently a Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering. I am primarily interested in Large Eddy Simulati...
E: james.tyacke@brunel.ac.uk
james.tyacke@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 123b
Mrs Jetmira Uka Mrs Jetmira Uka
PhD Student
E: jetmira.uka@brunel.ac.uk
jetmira.uka@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Susanna Venditti Miss Susanna Venditti
PhD Student
T: +44 (0)1895 268916
E: susanna.venditti@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268916 susanna.venditti@brunel.ac.uk Gardiner Building 101
Mr Sankarshan Verma Mr Sankarshan Verma
PhD Student
Sankarshan is a doctoral researcher in the department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Bru...
E: sankarshan.verma@brunel.ac.uk
sankarshan.verma@brunel.ac.uk
Professor Rade Vignjevic Professor Rade Vignjevic
Professor - Structural Integrity
Professor Rade Vignjevic joined Brunel from Cranfield University, where he was Head of the Applied M...
T: +44 (0)1895 268455
E: v.rade@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 268455 v.rade@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 107
Dr Bin Wang Dr Bin Wang
Vice Dean International - CEDPS
Bin Wang graduated with BEng (1985) in Solid Mechanics from Xi’an Jiaotong University, MSc (19...
T: +44 (0)1895 267304
E: bin.wang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267304 bin.wang@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 119
Mr Xinyan Wang Mr Xinyan Wang
Research Assistant
Dr Xinyan Wang graduated with a Master and a PhD degree in State Key Laboratory of Engines (SKLE), T...
T: +44 (0)1895 265903
E: xinyan.wang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265903 xinyan.wang@brunel.ac.uk Michael Sterling 261
Mr Guihao Wang Mr Guihao Wang
PhD Student
E: guihao.wang@brunel.ac.uk
guihao.wang@brunel.ac.uk
Miss Christina Webb Miss Christina Webb
PhD Student
E: christina.webb@brunel.ac.uk
christina.webb@brunel.ac.uk
Dr Jan Wissink Dr Jan Wissink
Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 267371
E: jan.wissink@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267371 jan.wissink@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 112
Professor Luiz Wrobel Professor Luiz Wrobel
Research Professor
ACADEMIC QUALIFICATIONSPhD in Civil Engineering (1981), University of Southampton, UKMSc in...
T: +44 (0)1895 266696
E: luiz.wrobel@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 266696 luiz.wrobel@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 123a
Dr Jun Xia Dr Jun Xia
Senior Lecturer in Advanced Mechanical Engineering
T: +44 (0)1895 265433
E: jun.xia@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265433 jun.xia@brunel.ac.uk Howell Building 133
Dr Qingping Yang Dr Qingping Yang
Reader
Dr QingPing Yang is the Director of the Brunel Quality Engineering and Smart Technology (QUEST) Rese...
T: +44 (0)1895 265854
E: qingping.yang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 265854 qingping.yang@brunel.ac.uk Tower A 211
Dr Tao Zhang Dr Tao Zhang
Research Fellow
Dr. Tao Zhang joined Brunel University London at the beginning of 2019, after obtaining his PhD at t...
T: +44 (0)1895 267405
E: tao.zhang@brunel.ac.uk
+44 (0)1895 267405 tao.zhang@brunel.ac.uk Michael Sterling Building 358